Met a small spotted woodpecker

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

dsc03461.jpg

I walk through the park and see a small bird on the trunk. Outwardly, it looks like a woodpecker. But the size confused me. Usually woodpeckers I see larger ones. This same bird is slightly larger than a house sparrow.

The weather was not conducive to filming. It was too cloudy outside. But is it possible not to capture such a glorious hard worker.

dsc03455.jpg
In the photo above, in the beak of a woodpecker, the bark from a tree.

While I was approaching the place where the bird was and thinking whether it was a woodpecker or not, the bird flew to another place.

dsc03456.jpg

But I followed with my eyes where the bird flew and found it. Managed to take two pictures.

dsc03471.jpg

Now I was already sure that it was just a small woodpecker. It turned out to be a small spotted woodpecker. This is the first time I see such a woodpecker. The bird quickly left this trunk. She flew away from me. And suddenly I heard a loud drum roll.

dsc03470.jpg

The sound was so loud that it felt like a powerful mechanism was working on the other side.

dsc03469.jpg

And suddenly I saw the woodpecker again. Of course, it was not a drum roll or the sound of a machine. This is a small woodpecker at a very high speed pecking the damaged bough of an old tree.

dsc03467.jpg

The woodpecker knocked for just over a second. During the breaks, he turned more. Then he continued to knock again. But is it possible to work at high speed for a long time.

From time to time the woodpecker stopped its intense work and rested. Then he started working again.

dsc03464.jpg

And here the woodpecker showed me his back. He was all tousled. The plumage is not entirely clean. But the street is very cloudy after the rain and the sky is gray. It's not a good time to take pictures of birds. But how can you resist when you see a bird that you don’t often see.

_.gif

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks.

What an amazing experience, I can't remember the last time I saw a woodpecker of any size. Beautiful bird and wonder shots even if the weather was not so good for filming.

Thanks.

You are so very welcome 😁