My Owl Painting: Flying Lessons

owl.JPG

This is an old painting from 2019 that got wet and I just fixed it lately. Before the colors lacked contrast and more shadow. I was not satisfied with it before but now I am! I made it darker or maybe too dark but it still looks good to me cause the scene should be in the woords where the trees block the sunlight.

Areas I added shades on

I basically added a layer of color and shadows on everything.
owl2.JPG

Here is a video of me coloring the tree bark

To me it has really got that night feel or dark forest vibe.

Here's one work in progress picture:

The eyes upclose

Barn owl eyes are not pink but I added pink for some reason and it ended up well.

before I adjusted it

This is how it looked before I adjusted it.

If you compare, the two look so different.
I've realized how watercolor takes so many layers it is faster than colored pencils but if you want a good result you are going to have to take the time to create layers and blend them well. It's still something I am practicing cause I find it a bit hard to master the medium. With colored pencils I am very comfortable.

For example:
Just showing two of my colored pencil artworks:

I have started making another drawing of colored pencils but I have not finished it yet. It's a bird haha but I dont want to post it yet!

I'll just show some pics of the painting which may be better

That's all for my feathered friend feature!

Have a great day!

+ J M J + A M D G +

Sort:  

Wooow amazing painting Jacinta 🤩 🤩 🤩

Thank youuu

Thank you for staying engaged.
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow just wow you are talented! Your painting is gorgeous I absolutely love the subject matter.

Thank you so much!

Thanks for your engagement on this post.
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

The mother owl protecting and teaching the little owls... Awww... How cute! 🤗

Yessss, good one! Thank you

Thank you for your constant engagement.
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Beautiful painting ! 👏Thanks for posting it on the community, we love all sort of birds ! and I always appreciate the artistic ones of course 😉

Awww thank youuuuu 🙏♥️

Loading...

Such wonderful work! Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!
!tip

Thank you Melinda!

🎁 Hi @jacinta.sevilla! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: The Ladies Of Hive Community Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Beautiful painting I congratulate you

Thank you so much