Brown-hooded Kingfisher

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

I Don't Eat Fish But I'm A Kingfisher

Woodland, scrubland and in my garden brown-hooded kingfisher (Halcyon albiventris) must be my favourite most regular visitor who greets me year round, after some thought this must be the one!

IMG_5271.JPG

Name is actually not quite in line with what he eats, a tree kingfisher sitting on lofty perch with a birds eye-view below on the ground, in one swift move will collect insects on the move either on the ground or passing through his territory.

IMG_5796.JPG

Monogamous species perhaps I am looking at Mom or Dad, might even be last years colourful chick, Dad will have more striking colour range in feathers.

IMG_7090.JPG

Kingsfishers are said to have 'orange of the setting sun on its breast and the blue of the sky on its back', perhaps not predominant as some kingfishers but a handsome bird that does not mind calling attention outside. "Choo choo choo"

IMG_9183.JPG

Brown upper body in African bush is ideal camouflage from above, turquoise flash most noticeable when in a dive or sitting quietly in the tree, not noticeable from directly above.

IMG_6769.JPG

They dig a tunnel in ledge of ground for nesting, with soft ground in our region and being damp I would imagine it to be a sturdy nest. One of which we had years ago in our car port wall no longer in use now.

IMG_6962.JPG

Thanks for visiting I and my Brown-hooded Kingfisher feathered friend in garden photography, entry to #SMAP No. 80 Contest with host @nelinoeva Favourite Bird

SA_Hive_LineBreak.png

All photography is my own. Any queries or requests please drop a comment below or make contact with me, have a wonderful day! Photography without tripod, go with the flow wherever life takes you. NB: Amateur photographer and bird watcher, keep smiling!

Thought for Today: "A bird with fire on its tail burns its own nest." - African Proverb

Combination_PapillonCharity.png How To

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

joan.gif

Sort:  

Nice shots of this bird here @joanstewart 👌
I wonder how it got the name if it doesn't eat fish or at least catch and release 😅

More likely to enjoy a small lizard to fish, thanks for visiting and have a great day!

!LOLZ
!LUV

I slept like a baby last night.
I woke every two hours and cried.

Credit: reddit
@nevies, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(3/6)


~~~ embed:1558470465148145665 twitter metadata:QWd0ZXJiZXJnTWlja3x8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9BZ3RlcmJlcmdNaWNrL3N0YXR1cy8xNTU4NDcwNDY1MTQ4MTQ1NjY1fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joanstewart, @stresskiller ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

a kingfisher not eating fish sounds almost like a vegan :) Great pictures Joan have a great weekend

Name is deceiving for most kingfishers I know of do fish, this family I have seen take some variety of food in the garden, know it back so quickly difficult to capture.

Thanks for social media share and kind comment with visit !LOLZ

!WINEX goes well with !PIZZA later!


Congratulations, @joanstewart You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @stresskiller.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.168


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Why was the river rich?
Because it had two banks.

Credit: reddit
@stresskiller, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(4/6)

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@johannpiber(13/15) tipped @joanstewart (x3)
joanstewart tipped stresskiller (x1)
joanstewart tipped duekie (x1)
joanstewart tipped johannpiber (x1)
joanstewart tipped dayat92 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

You're showing your furry friend again. I'm so happy to see the way you picked up some of these birds

Actually I really like photography in the field of animals but I don't have the equipment in this field, I only use my smartphone to shoot what I can shoot

Small pocket camera goes everywhere I go, never know what is outdoors with something always happening.

!PIZZA

I hope someday I will do something great

kingfisher, the photo is very good in the bush

All around my home, garden after 20+ years of no insecticides has paid off massive dividends in wildlife returning to enjoy.

!PIZZA

wow, very happy to hear that, small animals survived without insecticides.

Ai they are beautiful birds and you got amazing photos of them @joanstewart :)

My best regular friends that pop in and out to greet.

Ahhh, that is amazing and I can totally relate :)

A beautiful bird I must say, I like the color of the beak. I wonder why the name Kingfisher when it doesn't feed on fish.

Don't need to be on the water much either, most kingfishers live close to rivers, we are about 800 meters from river as the crow flies I suppose close enough for this tough guy.

Looks like kingfisher, must be kingfisher even though he eats everything but fish.

I thought all Kingfishers would catch and eat fish, but I have learned something new today 😀
It's a really lovely little bird that even seems to smile at you 😁


!WINE makes a delicious dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Like a wolf dressed in sheep's clothing, looks are deceiving and we do learn new everyday.

Second capture is eating a praying mantis that normally takes good care of itself! Here giving me a lesson on how to get it down, !BEER would be required by human counterpart.

I get smiles, greetings even a twinkle in the eye.

Haha, yep, that's a suitable description it seems when I look at the image where the Kingfisher eats the Mantis 😉 !LOLZ


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

Hope the week is treating you well, we had a crazy hot day yesterday now back down in twenties today, weather has freaked out, gone crazy!

!LUV
!PIZZA
!WINE

It's hot here and work is stressful as always. A few hours ago there were hard rain storms around which have derooted many trees and I have heard that even two people were killed by a falling tree. I'm at work and here we have only had some rain and a heavy wind.

Mother Nature is angry on us and sends us bad weather we haven't known onlky 10 years ago.


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

What did the shark say when he ate the clownfish?
This tastes a little funny.

Credit: reddit
@joanstewart, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @johannpiber
The LOLZ Tribe is here! Stake your LOLZ now to earn curation rewards and continue using the !LOLZ command. Please read our latest update for more information.
(1/8)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @joanstewart.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.168


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

How unusual a kingfisher who doesn't eat fish. Brilliant shots, I can understand why this is your favourite bird, great choice!

Rascal sits with cute little face doesn't he!

Absolutely 🙂

specially those 2 first photos are fabulous :D

I think he enjoys the clicking sound of camera, will call to alert me when not feeding his face.

a poser... I see ehehehhe

These birds, of any species, are incredibly beautiful😍 It's very strange that he doesn't eat fish 🤷‍♂️

Apparently of the 120 species mainly found in Asia, Australia and Africa 90 species do not eat fish.

In South Africa only 4 out of 10 species do eat fish as main part of their diet, I know the Pied kingfisher is a brilliant fisherman having watched them catch their meals. Also Malachite and Giant eat fish seeing them on waterways patrolling although I have never witnessed them fishing.

Birds are totally fascinating!

Your garden brown-hooded kingfisher is a beautiful looking bird, Joan.

Can't mistake the call when in the garden, sometimes allow you quite close to them as well, I swear he winks and smiles as well!

What a handsome bird. Since we don't have Brown Hooded Kingfishers on this continent I went to You Tube to hear the call. I can see why you love it!

Thanks Joan!

Very distinctive call especially when calling their mate, as they say two in the bush is better than one!

IMG_3884.JPG

Oh how pretty!
What long beak, hehehe!

Armed not to miss....
Have a wonderful week!

They are remarkably pretty birds. They live in Queensland too and saw one not too long ago that I would have loved to get a photo, but it was gone before I snapped. Sometimes lucky and sometimes not!

The are normally fast in flight, some patience required sitting quietly you will get your photo. Have a great day.

Congratulations @joanstewart! You received a personal badge!

Congratulations on the purchase of your NFT for Peace.
Thank you for encouraging peace in Ukraine and helping civilians who suffer from war.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war

What an incredibly good capture, Joan! @joanstewrt You are such a wonderful wildlife phototgrapher!

I am so happy to see their numbers going up after having suffered from centuries of polluted waterways and wetlands drained for agriculture. They have been protected here since the 80s and finally are showing it nicely.

Most of the world's kingfishers are not water-based, but, most of the ones here are. ! What's in a name anyway? :)

Some are on the water only, some aren't which catches people by surprise !LOLZ seeing them perched slightly further away from water than anticipated.

This family definitely love perching close proximity enough for us to bob a greeting to each other, giving me time enough to photograph as well.

Thanks for kind comment of enjoyment I will be sure to let him/her know 😅

If I don’t perfect human cloning
I won’t be able to live with myself.

Credit: marshmellowman
@dswigle, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart
The LOLZ Tribe is here! Stake your LOLZ now to earn curation rewards and continue using the !LOLZ command. Please read our latest update for more information.
(2/6)

Hehehe! Thank you!

😁 They are rather adorable!

I've only seen one while travelling of course but they seem like a fun bird to have around locally. Kingfishers are some of the best!

Hope you get to see more when outdoors, check your regional bird watching group they may point you in the right direction. Apparently found on every continent except Antarctica.

Really wonderful photos! Especially the one where he/she is snacking on a praying mantis!

That was a tasty meal, picks up all kinds of treats 😇

Simply stunning Joan, I love the size and shape of the beak on your kingfisher.
Handsome devil too :) Wonderful shots and how lucky to have in your garden!

Slowly the birds are arriving South once again, this happy chappy happens to hang around all year making his family a regular feature around the garden.

It is brilliant he does hang around all year with his family:)