My First Owl Pics

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

I was quite happy to get some Owl pictures today. Owls are my favorite, and I was very happy for my first bird picture with the new camera to also be my first Owl picture. Be sure to click and open these big screen!

KOwl01Crop20210227AI.jpg

I had to drive over an hour to get this picture, my sister-in-law gave me the pointer to it's location. She was able to get some fantastic shots of the young owlets in this nest last year, and I was very happy when she told me that the Owl was nesting there again this year.

KOwl0120210227AI.jpg

Was only able to get a portion of her head peaking out of a nest, but I'm still excited. Hoping for my next shots to be of full body.

KOwl0220210227AI.jpg

For those following my previous "Guess the first visit" BirdFeeder Contest, still no visitors (after 9 days!).

All photos original work copyright 2021 by the author of this post.
Sony A7R4 w/Sony 200-600mm lens.

Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

These are so wonderful! You are putting that camera to good use! Thanks for posting these in the Feathered Friends Community.
My daughter said it took several weeks for birds to find her feeder too.
ECENCY POINTS TIP

That's awesome man! I have only gotten a picture of an owl once in my life and it was by absolute accident! My very first smart phone in my life, I went outside at night to snap a few pictures and see how cool it was when boom right in front of me jumps something up into a tree, scared the shit out of me lol. I turn on my flashlight and see it's a baby owl! I have never seen one before and only twice since but I got a picture of it and was so amazed at how cool it was. I will have to remember to look in these types of broken trees to see if there are owls nesting, we do have some around here but they are quite the camouflaged critters!

Thanks, I was very excited to get my first Owl shot as well, even though it wasn't "my find". My sis-in-law also claims to have a "Burrowing Owl" spot. I've never seen one of those in real life, so I'm sure there will be an outing to find them later this spring/summer.

Awesome owl photos. Such a great bird...

@tipu curate

Thanks, I agree, these are the most majestic!

Fantastic photos @ksteem!! Certainly worth that trip and I can just imagine your excitement! Hope you are able to get lots more photos! I'm surprised you haven't gotten any birds at that feeder and I'm wondering what kind of seed is in it. I know Cardinals, sparrows and some finches love safflower seed and some less desirable birds do not like it. Usually, I just put in safflower and a little thistle to deter the starlings and a few other varieties. 😉💖
Tip

I actually had a couple visitors today finally. I'll be checking the pics a little later. I started off with just a "favorite" generic mix with 40% Black sunflowers, and also bought some extra sunflowers to add/mix in later...

That is awesome and now I'm wondering who you first visitors were! 🤨🙂

What a beautiful animal. Well worth the photo trip!

Thanks. Yes it was!

Great photos! Owls are very cute animals.

How well hid the owl is and blending with the colour of the bark, hard to be spotted.
Oh, I can imagine how you felt seeing the owl. I am still missing to photograph an owl, although I have heard some at night.

We hear them at night and early morning quite often here as well. I have yet to spot one of those close to home yet though. That will be even better one day!

I share your excitement! As a metropolis habitant, I can boast zero encounters and hotos like this.

My sincere congratulations with the new camera!