Rook found a chestnut

in Feathered Friendslast year (edited)

Today it's warm again. The only pity is the snow that fell overnight melted overnight. I decided to go to the park to put bird seeds in the feeders. Usually in the morning there are few people in the park, so the birds fly freely and are not afraid.

DSC01232-4.jpg

Having spread the seeds on the feeders, I decided to take a little walk along the path in the park. I often walked on it. It was quiet here and there was no need to rush anywhere. In the distance I saw a rook who was diligently looking for something among the grass. The winter was warm, so a lot of last year's green grass was still preserved.

DSC01228-4.jpg

When I came closer, I saw that a rook was pulling a chestnut fruit out of the grass. Apparently he fell into the thick grass in autumn and stayed there until this rook saw him. He seemed to be very pleased with this discovery and did not pay any attention to me.

DSC01234-4.jpg

When I got closer, he raised his head and looked at me. Apparently he was evaluating me and wondering if I want to take this chestnut away from him. Just in case, he grabbed a chestnut in his beak and began to move away from me. He clearly did not want to part with his prey.

DSC01240-4.jpg

Moving away from me, the rook decided to hide his prey in the grass. Apparently he decided that I can take this chestnut from him. Of course it was reasonable. He couldn't eat it right away, and he didn't want to share the food.

DSC01243-4.jpg

Having hidden his prey in the grass, he began to examine me again. Apparently appreciated. Did I see how he hid this chestnut in the grass. It was very funny to look at this rook. He did his best to distract me from his prey. He did not fly anywhere, but began to wait for me to leave.

DSC01252-4.jpg

He even began to pretend that he was looking for something in the grass. Apparently in this way he wanted to distract me from his prey. I became very interested in what would happen next if I left. But the rook apparently decided that it was better for him to fly away and then return and eat this chestnut alone and not share it with anyone. He flapped his wings and flew deep into the park

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Такой довольный собой с орешком 😄

Но самое интересное, что он его спрятал в траву когда я стал к нему подходить поближе. Видимо думал, что придётся делиться добычей или опасался, что отнимут.