The Eurasian sparrowhawk

in Feathered Friendslast year

Hello feathered friends,

I returned a few days ago to my favorite location, which I frequently go to. I approached the forest-enclosed pond close to my home from a completely different side this time, passing through the grove.

I spotted a bird in a puddle about 100 meters away from the pond, between the sparse rows of trees. I initially mistook it for a pheasant because of its distance, but I quickly realized it was a male sparrowhawk.

This type of bird of prey is relatively common in these parts. The surrounding forest is an ideal habitat for it to nest. Last year I also found a nest with fledglings, so this specimen might even be one of them.

He briefly splashed in the puddle, drank some water, glanced around, and then, when he saw me, flew away.

I'll probably go see the current nests in May or June since that's when this species of bird breeds. In the meantime, I hope to see it again.


Thank you for stopping by and supporting my content!

Sort:  

Beautiful observation @oks2crypto. The scourge of sparrows and blackbirds. I see you've joined the Nature Observer community. Won't you sign up at https://www.inaturalist.org then share verified, selected interesting observations there?

Thanks, but I'm afraid that I won't be able to fulfill all of the rules for posting in the community.

Just a friendly reminder what is possible 😀

I don't want to install the app or share my location, which I understand is against the rule. I can share my observations, describe the species, or tell something interesting about them.

If you do not want to share location it is understandable. Anyway I will follow you. You have good posts.

Thank you very much. I do like your observations too.