Walking and birds spotting Week 09

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Hello feathered friends.

This is week 09 of my weekly walking and birds spotting diary. All photos were taken in the period from February 25 to March 04. Again I'll share with you photos of different bird species around the place I live in.

Another week of sunny and warm days. Buds are opening, and soon the flowers will start blossoming.
Nature is changing and with it the bird species. I meet new species almost every day.

So far this is the most productive week. I have documented 22 different bird species, of which 6 are new.

Tree sparrows

I can rarely miss them. They are most often found at the very exit from the settlement in the bushes.



House sparrows

They were hidden for a while, but now they are more often and easier to find.



Rooks

Their number has significantly decreased in the last 7 days. Of the large flocks, some small groups and individuals are left that are already accustomed to the presence of people. It is much easier to approach them. One day I managed to get a few meters close to this one.



Pigeons

I love watching the pigeons fly in sync. And when they are not flying, they can be easily found on roofs.



Magpies

It is a rare sight like this. A group of magpies at a meeting. They are usually lonely and distant from each other.

magpie_03_2_.jpg



Collared doves

As usual, transmission lines are their most common vacation spots. Sometimes they can also be found in the treetops. What is interesting is that, unlike magpies, they are always in the lower half.



Hooded crow

Real field birds. I can only notice them there. Sometimes they fly over the settlement, and that is a real rarity.



Long-eared owls

There are fewer and fewer of them. Until a week ago, there were up to thirty of them on this tree.

owl_03.jpg

It seems that their roosting season is nearing its end. Fortunately, a certain number of pairs remain to nest. I hope I'll find a nest and photograph owl fledglings.



Common buzzard

Interestingly, the number of predatory birds has decreased significantly. I'm not sure if the nesting season has started or they have changed their location. I haven't noticed a common kestrel this week. I saw a buzzard in flight a few times.

buzzard_04.jpg

Eurasian goldfinch

As predators decrease, the number of small songbirds increases. I see goldfinches more often, especially in places where I haven't seen them before.





Woodpecker

The woodpecker is a bird that I always hear first and then see. It is constantly on the move and searching for food.



Great tit

Their number has increased, and they are easier to spot. They are much louder and sing songs more often.



Blue tit

I notice it for the first time this year. I noticed this bird fluttering on a high branch. After a few moments, it just disappeared.



Great gray heron

I can't approach this bird without noticing me.

Ready, steady, go!



gray_heron_03.jpg

White great heron

Unlike the gray heron, I've seen it only in the air flying away from me.



Starling

I meet them more often than before. They are quite present in the surroundings, but in small groups of a couple of birds or individually.



Mallards

The mating season has begun and happy couples can be found. Sometimes I meet them in the irrigation canal and sometimes in the lake.



mallards_03.jpg

Common blackbird

I also notice this bird for the first time. I noticed different specimens on two occasions. Once a male and another time a female. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a chance for a better photo.



Common chaffinch

Another songbird suddenly appeared. I spotted it on top of a poplar calling out to another I couldn’t see. They called each other alternately for a few minutes.





Eurasian skylark

Where is the bird?
If I hadn't heard it, I wouldn't have noticed it at all. It blended so well with the plowed land. Another species of bird added to a list. I hope we meet again.





Eurasian wren

I also saw this little one in the surrounding for the first time. A typical forest bird that I noticed in a grove near a nest. I will have to visit that place again to check if it is nesting, or just passing through.

eurasian_wren_01.jpg



Swan

And finally, during a visit to a lake near the place where I live, I was greeted by a beautiful swan.

swan_01.jpg

I once had the opportunity to see a swan briefly this summer. Of course, I took photos, but I can't find a memory card.



Thank you for stopping by and supporting my content!

Sort:  

Great documentation. Spring is coming!

Thanks. Yes, it is coming.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 46 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7

Thanks.
Cheers. 🍻
!BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @oks2crypto for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @oks2crypto, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Stunning images and documentation! I really love this. It is so amazing the diversity of life and bird friends!

Thank you very much for your kind words. It's appreciated.

Nice shots!

Thank you

Such cute sparrows 🥺💓✨

😁

Wonderful selection of birds. Like you, I also first hear the woodpeckers and then see them. But sometimes they quietly and swift fly from tree to tree
I haven't seen lark yet and wish not only to see but hear its song.

Thanks. Luckily I heard larks singing first. 😁

Oh, lucky you. 😉

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Thanks for your constant support! ♥️