Spring Song Bird

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

During a spring walk along the Deschutes River in Bend, Oregon our journey was halted by the melodious notes of a nearby songbird. Looking up I saw the source of the pleasant tune coming from a house finch. At least that is what a Google image search told me this bird was. 😋


Click images for larger view

Google was also the source for some more of the info I will be sharing in this post.

99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png

After getting an initial shot and making sure I had some acceptable camera settings, I started to zoom in a little with my Tamron 70-300mm lens.


I don't always have the best luck photographing birds as they tend to fly off on me. This breed is deemed to be rather friendly though so he was in no hurry to leave. They can live up to 11 years but sadly most don't make it that long.

Click images for larger view


I decided to move around a bit to try and get a little different angle.


I think my movement alerted him and he took his first real look at me.

Instead of flying off though, he began to regale us with his joyful tune.

I was able to catch his feathers ruffling under his beak as he serenaded us.

It was a very rewarding interaction with nature on a beautiful spring day. 😃

Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about the house finch in this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, with a Nikon D3300 and some Lightroom post processing.
Please visit Pinmapple to see the locations of some of my other posts.
Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.