Best shots of sunbirds.

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

279.JPG

The famous king of the sunbirds here and you will see more of this young Malachite at the end of the post.

Come and see a range of local beauties here!

I said the best shots in the title as it was weather permitting and we went back to this walk this time with the sun behind us and not glaring into my camera. But in saying this, there was one shot that I couldn't resist even with the sun facing us as you will see. So without further ado, let's have a look.

At a distance, here is our Orange Breasted Sunbird (Anthobaphes violacea) but I also have the Malachite and the Sugarbird in here.
249.JPG

This was my playground where I took all of the photos.
357.JPG

Ah! Now look how the wind whipped up the Sugarbird's long tail.
201.JPG

He is a Cape Sugarbird (Promerops cafer) and I had to zoom right up to him.
261.JPG

Right and now back to the Malachite Sunbird (Nectarinia famosa)
276.JPG

Sitting on an old Protea flower hub and looking for insects.
277.JPG

The only clear day yesterday, as we are raining here now after a magnificent sunrise this morning that you can see Here

We love the outdoors and spend as much time as we can outside, but one has to be careful of this new 3rd wave of Covid, and to go to isolated places where there are no crowds about.
But then again it is a good thing as the birds are to be found in isolated places.

Another bonus is that isolated places are untouched by human hands and one can really enjoy nature in its original state.
The walks are murderous to my damaged left knee, but I cope with it as the far places draw me like a magnet.
And yes, at many occasions I get lucky with some good shots.
That's what it's all about. Peace and beauty.

And That's All Friends!

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS.

We hope that you enjoyed the pictures and the story.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity

Sort:  

Nice playground! You really have a diverse selection of the beautiful sun- and sugar-birds Zac! That orange breast is adorable. We still have an abundance of the majestic malachite sunbird. We even have one building a nest just outside one of the windows in the cacti. But they are extremely camera shy this year. Or....maybe my enthusiastic and not quiet children are the deterent

Thank you and great that you have a nest there so close by.
Yes, they are very skittish birds and I hope that they will stay, as at times they abandon the nest if they think that it is not safe.

Our little sunbird is on her nest right now and she seems happy.

!PIZZA

Yay! It's going to be so exciting watching the baby sunbirds once they've hatched

Always exciting to watch them grow and we watch the each time.
The Robins and the thrushes are also now building their nests, so it will be fun to watch all of the new kids running around here in the garden.

Blessings,

!PIZZA
!BEER

Connect

Trade


@buckaroobaby! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)

What a feast! Pizza and beer.....although I prefer a glass of red wine personally ;)

Sounds like you will have a special spring with all the little feathered babies. I thought of you yesterday when I did my post about Birds of Eden. I know it's not exactly your back yard - but have you ever been?

We have already had 3 special springs down here my friend. One in Grabouw when we arrived and two in this house where we now live.
I have not seen your post about the Birds of Eden and will go take a look.
Nope I have never been, but I am inquisitive and footloose.

Here's some red !WINE with this party pack of !PIZZA and !BEER

Connect

Trade


@buckaroobaby! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)


Hey @buckaroobaby, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.


Hey @buckaroobaby, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@buckaroobaby! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

That is a beautiful shot for an amazing bird like the sunbird


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I agree with your title 100%. Best of the best!

Thank you kindly Lady Melinda.

Blessings and have some !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@melinda010100! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (6/10)