Fun in the rain!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

012.JPG

Most of us grab umbrellas or stay dry and warm indoors when it's raining!

In South Africa after a prolonged drought, the farmers dance in the rain!

That's rain on my car's window as we went out to have a look at the ocean in the downpour and we saw some beautiful sights.
There's always life and endurance during rainy times and we found some of it to show you!

029.JPG

Here above is a pair of Oystercatchers and amazing to see them out in the open!

020.JPG

A closer look at the Oystercatchers and the strange thing is that they normally hide in the rocks.
Maybe they were out to have a bath in the rain 🤣

036.JPG

A Kelp gull flying here in the rain and I was already sopping wet lol.

011.JPG

Once just a trickle during the drought, look at the river now!

270.JPG

Don't doubt the decision of the 11 seagulls here to rather head for home in the late afternoon!

073.JPG

Our view in the photo above as we arrived back at home!

So yes, when it rains we go out, crazy isn't it ?
Nope, not in my book as water is life and I am alive 🤣
The drumming sound of the rain on the car's roof sang a song; "Listen to the falling rain, listen to the rain, and with every drop of rain I love you more"

This is surely the Maker's love and gift to all living beings when the rain water soaks the parched earth. Flowers pop up and dance, chipmunks and squirrels smile and the birds cleave through the skies. Yes, finally the drought is broken and the dams are filling up. Why then would we hide from this?
Sincere gratitude and joy was in order all the way round!

And That's All Friends!

I leave you to think about this;

“Health is the new wealth. Happiness is the new rich. Inner peace is the new success. Kindness is the new cool.” —Syed Balkhi

Note: All photos are my own, unedited and cropped for uploading.
Camera used: Cannon Powershot SX60HS

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and the story!

Thank you for visiting the blog of @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Your post brought this to mind this morning, "who covers the heavens with clouds, who prepares rain for the earth, who makes grass to grow on the mountains" Psalm 147:8 and "...His favor is as a cloud brining the spring rain" Proverbs 16:15
Blessings this beautiful Sunday my friend

Certainly a great reply here my friend.
Happy to be in His service everyday and knowing that to walk in Him delivers a great peace to the soul.
Blessings also to your Sunday!

Thank you kindly!

cool shot son a rainy day, we could do with some of that rain also we are in a bad drought at the moment and everything is so dry

Luckily no wildfires here like there are on the west coast, lets hope it stays that way

We had bumper seasons of wild fires over the past 5 year drought and it might even be 7 years JJ.
I posted about the Helicopters carrying water in balloon bags to one fire here in the mountains.

I hope that you guys will also get good rains soon.

The weather across the world is going crazy these days!

And some still doubt climate change which I prefer to call it to me global warming just confuses people and makes it easy fir people to dismiss it

Exactly JJ, everyone nowadays puts "more acceptable" names to their sins in order to fool the public and for the public to accept it. So many cons in life, but they don't know that it will come back to haunt them.

History has shown us this and it will continue to show us that we can't hide the real truth!

With the election coming up here there are so many lies and most Ruth’s many are so confused or mire they choose to only listen to what fonts into what they want to believe it’s so crazy and frustrating and I will stop there as I normally avoid discussing politics

We are also non political JJ.
So, the less said about the shenanigan's the better!

Again we are in synch ;)
I hope you have had a good Sunday

I would certainly belong to the ones who stay warm indoors - rain means life, that's true, but although I am not the tallest I don't need to grow any longer or wider 😉

I like the first two shots most - the drops on the window and the Oystercatchers with the waves behind 😊


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Those Oystercatchers were the most difficult to get, as I must have taken about 10 shots of them. The rain bathed me and the car that I was standing next to and the wind tried it's best to steal the small camera umbrella.

Well you can blame your childhood for being short, but for the width you can't blame anyone, as it is your live for sweet stuff hahaha.
So, you have reached the max of height and width lol.
Of course too much of either is never a good thing and you already have enough to keep warm 🤣

Cheers and thanks!

For the width I can blame my mother and my wife, because both cook delicious food 😉
Well, I think I have reached the a tiny bit more than the max width, but that's no problem and will be gone after a few walks 😁


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Both things that I miss in my life Hannes.
We are more into "healthy" eating and at times I feel like a rabbit.
Nothing can beat home cooking 😘

They say that during winter people gets fat and that's why all of the gyms here place slimming ads in spring. But it sounds that you can easily shake it off with walks and that's always a good thing.

Cheers and thanks!

Apart from the fact that my daughter doesn't eat meat we eat what we like. The 3 or 4 kilos I have too much to carry around with me don't matter 😉
I have never been to a gym or similar facility before.


Cheers and !BEER

You are lucky to shake excess weight off easily and I am the same. But now with the back problem I eat less just to compensate. Thankfully I have never been fat, so it's a great help.
During my boxing days I was in the gym almost daily for 12 years, but that was a long time ago and since then I have also never set foot in a gym again.

Obviously your walks keep you in trim methinks!

Cheers and thanks!

The walks are certainly good, but even better are the vibrations of the Harley I believe 🤣


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Beautiful rainy day photos! It is great to appreciate nature in all it's glory! 🌧️🌞
Thanks for sharing these wonderful photos with us!
!tip

Thank you milady and a happy Sunday to you.
Rain, sun and shine, all display the beauties of nature.
Blessings and thank you for the tip.

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Leftovers-Alphabet Hunt Letter T Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

👍It's funny, but in my and neighboring countries, these birds are called something like "sandpiper-magpie".😀

Not these my friend, as we also have sandpiper-magpies here.
They Oystercatchers can be found in many other countries in black and white, but only on the south coast of South Africa, this sub species of pure black Oystercatchers exist.