Metallic color changes and other beauties!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

070 2.JPG

This is the natural green metallic color of our Malachite songbirds (Nectarinia famosa).

They sing only a single short note and it's very difficult to get a singer on camera.

But it's the color change to blue in the sunlight that I am showing you here.

This here below, is the same bird in a very weak cloud break that allowed some sunlight to peep through.

145 2.JPG

The little Cape White Eye (Zosterops virens) had better luck in the sun while eating on a Mulberry tree.

179.JPG

A little female Swee Waxbill (Coccopygia melanotis)!

282.JPG

A real little beauty as she cleans her wing.

277.JPG

The little Swee's were at a family picnic here and they were enjoying some grass seeds!

292.JPG

Here we have another difficult shot of a Southern Double- collared Sunbird (Cinnyris chalybeus) in a high tree.

124.JPG

And finally we have a Cape Bulbul (Pycnonotus capensis) having a go at some Syringa tree berries!

162.JPG

I want to explain the Malachite's color changes to you in scientific terms.

"We observed, in a dense succulent thicket, a glossy blue-plumaged bird which we at first thought was a Cape Glossy Starling. We saw that this blue bird was accompanied by a sunbird with dark brown dorsal plumage and a white belly. The blue bird was then seen to be a sunbird as well".

"No matter which way it turned, clambering through the dense scrub, no green was observed, only a deep, royal blue. The blue bird was identified as a male Malachite Sunbird Nectarinia famosa, with aberrant plumage, and the second bird as a female of the same species".

Source
Click on the right hand side of the page to open a PDF Document about the study!

They change to dark blue to absorb more sunlight into their bodies!

And here you have it as I thought that I was seeing this when this Malachite's color suddenly changed when he sat in a different tree. The same single note sound and the same body, but a beautiful dark blue color. Pity that it was not a clear day, but I will get them on a clear day soon.

So, like you and I change out of jackets when it gets hot, just so the Malachite changes from dark blue to the green metallic!
Amazing isn't it?

And That's All Friends!

We leave you with this;

“Health is the new wealth. Happiness is the new rich. Inner peace is the new success. Kindness is the new cool.” —Syed Balkhi

All photos are my own and we hope that you have enjoyed the post.
Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you kindly for the support @brumest

This is my favorite out of the bunch :)

Do Mulberries taste like raspberries?

Thank you for the visit and no Mulberries have a different sweet taste. But beware, get that juice on your shirt and you will never get it out. We used to nab pockets full of mulberries :)

The old mulberry tree is on a strawberry farm that we visited. Don't you guys have mulberries over there?

WE have raspberries and there are tow different varieties - but looking at your pictures I was wondering if we have mulberries. I don't think so - but will check next season.

It is very likely that you will find mulberries there, as it is a beautiful tree that people like to plant in their gardens.
If not, then I can send you some mulberry seeds lol.

The Swee Waxbill is one cute little bird ❤️

Thank you. Tiny little things my friend and their call is "Sweeee, sweeee, sweeee" lol.

Oh my goodness that is swee swee sweet 😂

And I say haaa haaa haaa thanks 🤣

It's hard for me to remember our own birds names, but yours are as complicated as they are beautiful, Zac 😊
Such beautiful colours, especially the Malachite looks amazing 😁


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote
!tip

Thank you my friend!

Weather didn't play the game Hannes and they were in high trees, but I will know the Malachite's call anywhere.
Thankfully they are all South African birds and we have their Latin names in our books, so no need for Google hahaha.

Cheers and thanks!

As said, I don't even remember many of our own birds, but yours are more beautiful anyway.


Cheers and !BEER

We are blessed with the birdlife here my friend.
At the moment here in our garden the Cape Sparrows and the Weavers have babies that they are feeding bread that the Egyptian geese have left and all of our other small birds keep a low profile lol.
Waiting for the Dragonfly season to start as there will be much fun with them again.

And if I don't see to you here again tonight, then I will say a good night to you here, as I will still continue for a while.

Cheers and thanks!

Yeah, that's true and I'm longing to move back to the countryside where we have much more wildlife than near the town.

I'm looking forward to the dragonfly photos 😊


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

A few more years my friend and it will be all around you.

I saw that both you and I are helping our friend big time and I have also nominated his community for support adoption by OCD. Maybe you can also nominate his community if you have not done that already?

Amazing how the timing in nature works as all of the spring baby birds need feeding now and there are no dragonflies around. Once the babies are big enough they all go away and then the dragonflies start to appear.

Cheers and thanks!

I know, but you know that I don't have any patience 😉

I'll have a look at OCD later.

Yes, nature is always fascinating. I haven't thought about such timing things yet, but it sounds interesting - the dragonflies come when there's not so much danger anymore, that's cool 😀


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

WOw I love them all so beautiful
you get such an amazing variety of birds there

Blessings

Thank you JJ and yes, we are blessed with the abundant wild life here.
Glad that you liked the photos my friend!

Blessings!

I hope your have a nice relaxing and blessed Sunday
Cheers and !BEER

Good night to you guys from here my friend.
Almost 10pm here and an early night for a change.

Take care and all of our love to you guys!
Chat later.

Cheers and thanks!

Thanks my friend
Had a busy day and haven’t Been online at All till now
Relaxing in the backyard by the fire pit cheers my friend

Good morning JJ
Cannot blame you as after a busy day, a fire pit is very soothing treatment lol.
Sounds like you ended the day very well .

Ohh yeah it was a nice way tot he end the day pretty chilly out but the fire pit mad eup for that, we were going to do the same last night but its a drought here and the winds were gusting so didn't want to risk enbers flying in the wind and starting a free somewhere, maybe tonight we will


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That is truly amazing! They are absolutely gorgeous birds and your photos are wonderful. Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!
!tip

Thank you kindly milady!
Glad that you liked the post.

Blessings!

Very interesting, I really like colorful birds, they're so cute!

Nature is indeed full of interesting surprises my friend.
Thank you and they are lovely to see, there's also a few other colorful birds that have not arrived yet, but I hope that I will get them on camera lol.

Can't wait to see them, you are very good in capturing the nature's beauties

Thank you for the kind words and time will tell if I can get them :)

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Oh! So this was why I saw that it suddenly became worth it.
I give you my sincerest of sincere thanks Lady @barbara-orenya.
Blessings to you on this International Peace Day!