Mystery and Silhouettes!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

348 2.JPG

Here he is! The mystery Buzzard Raptor and I only got one picture of him!

I have this mystery raptor bird and some silhouettes to show you today!

A mystery bird? Yes indeed as I have never seen one of these Buzzards before. No, it is not a Steppe Buzzard and not a Forest Buzzard. But don't take my word for it, as I will explain what it is thought to be at the end of the post.

In the meantime enjoy the silhouettes!

381.JPG

No, he is not a bird, but nevertheless a great silhouette 🙂

615.JPG

A lovely early evening picture here!

619.JPG

Trying to find his balance in life 🤣

640.JPG

Goose clearing the roof in flight!

162.JPG

A little sunbird singing a farewell to the day!

264.JPG

This little family was also making their way home from their workplaces.

430.JPG

Finally, just a lovely sunset here to complete the post!

Now about that mystery bird:

The ‘Mystery Buzzard’ Dilemma!

The Cape ‘Mystery’ Buzzard, also just called the ‘Cape Buzzard’ is an unconfirmed species of Buzzard which has been the center of quite a bit of controversy in recent years. It’s a resident Buzzard which looks in many cases identical to the Steppe Buzzard. Theories have been put forth over where the Buzzards come from and whether they are hybridized birds or not".

"At this point, despite research having been done on them, there is not yet a consensus on the answer. Are these just Steppe Buzzards who have over-wintered and become residents or are they something else? Hopefully time will tell, but all that’s for certain at this stage is that they’re a bugger to identify".

Source

And That's All Friends!

I leave you with this;

“Health is the new wealth. Happiness is the new rich. Inner peace is the new success. Kindness is the new cool.” —Syed Balkhi

Note:
All photos are my own, unedited and cropped for uploading.
The article in inverted commas ("") was duly source cited.
Camera used: Canon SX60HS

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Mystery Buzzard has amazing eyes, all the better to catch squirrels, maybe this possible Steppe Buzzard prefers the Cape with it's majestic mountains and plenty to do in the region.

Lovely silhouette photography, wishing you a wonderful day and new week @papilloncharity

@tipu curate

Thank you and yes I was also mesmerized with those eyes Lady Joan.
Just the thing here is that it's definitely not Steppe Buzzard, as some parts of him looks like a Forest Buzzard.

Another give away is that these ones nest in high rock cliffs like eagles.
So they have given them the temporary name of "Cape Buzzards"

Luckily they have taken samples from some of their babies and we look forward to the results.

Blessings and thank you kindly for the curation!

Sometimes we see the big birds surprised with their arrival in suburban areas, one I do enjoy was close to where we grew up.

Verreaux's eagles watched over by Black Eagle Project Roodekrans, Roodepoort is one I check on every so often learning more about the big birds around us.

Perhaps hunting has brought this one down for a breather before taking off into high altitude once again. Will be interesting to learn more as you hear results coming out.

My father in law lives near the Botanical Gardens in Roodepoort Lady Joan.
They know the eagles very well, as he was a council geologist and drilled rock samples there.

The surprising thing is that the mystery Buzzards nest here and their offspring stays here.
Great news is that I got him on film again today at a different place and I will post it soon!

Blessings and thank you!

Once they come they tend to return, good you have seen it swirling above again.

They have done the ID Lady Joan and they reckon that it's a juvenile Gymnogene (African Harrier Hawk).
I have posted the adults at times, but it's my first to see a youngster and now I have a full set of them.

Got a more 'facial hair' when young, definitely would not have guessed that one Stephen.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 22 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

Thank you once again for the kind support!

Thank you kindly!

The silhouettes are lovely and the sunset beautiful, but this Buzzard looks cool, very majestic somehow - look at these big eyes 😀


Cheers and !BEER
!tip
!invest_vote

Ah! You know exactly what I like and even if I had listened to my original idea of placing the Buzzard photo last in the post with the source description, I love that bird too much not to place him first lol.

I cannot tell you how happy was to see him and I think that mother nature designed it so that I can only get one shot of him. A tease methinks, as if he is scouting the area, then I am almost sure that I will see him again.

If the bird scientists are correct in their thoughts that it is a cross breed here between the Steppe and Forest Buzzards, then we have another exclusive African breed of Buzzards, bred by nature to cope with the local weather and food conditions.

We did the same with cattle in history as some breeds were crossed to breed the exclusive Afrikander red oxen with a mighty strength to pull the heavy old ox wagons, but that crossing was done by man and in the Buzzard's case it was done by nature.
We know that there are also migratory birds from Europe and elsewhere, that have cross bred with local birds to form a new species.

Cheers and thanks!

You did the right thing - this bird deserves to be first 😊

Animals adapt to the conditions in nature, man tries to adapt nature to his comfort.


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Thank you and I also think so, so be it done!

Now you say that you are not wise, but this adaption sentence belongs in university manuals lol.

Cheers and thanks!

Haha, I am sure that I have read this somewhere 😉


Cheers and !BEER

Oh no, so you plagiarized then??? hahaha.
I am sure that you added your own words lol.

Cheers and thanks!

Cheetah didn't mind, so I might have used my own words, but I don't know 😉


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Pre Sunrise Panorama | Blue Hour At The Reservoir Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

If you ever find out the real story on the buzzards do let me know

I love those silhouette shots

Thank you JJ and I am submitting the photo tomorrow to the entities that are doing the studies on the Buzzards.
We will have to wait and see what feedback they have.

We share the love for silhouettes and reflections my friend.

Blessings!

Will be interestign to hear what they say

and BTW i checked my Skin Check isn't till November

Good morning JJ, another very wet day here.

Yeah, we might have a real humdinger here, but I will keep on looking out for that bird.

Good and November is not that far away!

Well stay safe and dry my friend, a nice day today we were up early today and heading to the Walk by the water to catch sunrise, but then my wife started not feeling well so we turned back home, she is feeling a bit better now so that is good

Now i should have a bite to eat, as I cannot eat for 5 hours before my scan

I hope that you have eaten by now after the scan JJ lol.
Sorry about Lulu and great that she has recovered.
We are safe and dry after a day that turned out difficult JJ and that's why I am so late tonight with the replies.
But all sorted and life goes on!

When will you know the results of the scan?

Blessings!

Ohh yes back home and have eaten, the scan was quick and over with quickly, :)

Sorry you had a difficult da I hope tomorrow is a better day

Those silhouettes are just amazing, great photos!

Glad that you enjoyed them my friend.
Thank you and I hope that you will have a good new week!

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you kindly!

You're welcome @papilloncharity🐝🐝🐝

the beige yellow as the background of the birds looks so beautiful ! it looks so natural

Posted using Dapplr

Thank you kindly and yes I also love the sunset colors in the background.
The photos show the natural state as I don't edit them.
Glad that you liked them.

Blessings!

Loved the sunset!

Thank you kindly Lady Mary!