Some allsorts at the beach!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

2361original.jpg
Source

I got the fancy chicken on this coin!

Googled the Caspian Tern and this gold coin with the bird popped up!
The coin source is a collector/stacking site and a friend has recently been talking about stacking. Hope that he will enjoy the link.

Now why would I google a Caspian Tern?

Only because I got one on camera at the beach and I am not used to terns that are so large. So in this post today I will show a variety of shots that I took on a beach walk this week.
Come and enjoy the post!

IMG_6066.JPG

Ah yes! Here he is, the bird on the coin. A real fancy chicken this one.
I waited for a long time , but he was not in a flying mood, and so I left him in peace.
But I now know where he is and I will get him in flight!
Some info about the Caspian Tern below;

"It is the world's largest tern with a length of 48–60 cm (19–24 in), a wingspan of 127–145 cm (50–57 in) and a weight of 530–782 g (18.7–27.6 oz). Adult birds have black legs, and a long thick red-orange bill with a small black tip. They have a white head with a black cap and white neck, belly and tail".

"The upper wings and back are pale grey; the underwings are pale with dark primary feathers. In flight, the tail is less forked than other terns and wing tips black on the underside. In winter, the black cap is still present (unlike many other terns), but with some white streaking on the forehead. The call is a loud heron-like croak."
Source

IMG_6525 2.JPG

That is the sun behind the chimney.
Early morning and the photo showed that it was going to be a nice day for a walk on the beach!

IMG_6397.JPG

A Kelp Gull took off here and I liked the ocean in the background of the shot!

IMG_6307.JPG

Nothing can compare with a Kelp in full flight on a blue sky!

IMG_6361.JPG

The Hadeda Ibis is known as an extremely noisy bird, but this must be their aluminati crowd, as they galloped along sedately without a sound Lol!

IMG_6430.JPG

Tracks of a beach patrol vehicle.
They guard the beaches as no one is supposed to be out here.
The beaches are closed in lockdown!

IMG_6434.JPG

Some of us are saying that things are difficult online, imagine how difficult life is for this survivor!

IMG_6272.JPG

Of course the waves are also our favorites and their rhythmic beat is music to one's ears!

IMG_6296.JPG

A surprise here as this was the only other person that we saw on our part of the beach. A lone surfer in the Atlantic ocean!

IMG_6297.JPG

As impressive as he looks in flight, look how inconspicuous this gull looks as he stood in the water below!

IMG_6406.JPG

IMG_6269.JPG

Finally, thank you for taking a walk with us on the beach today and we are glad that the beach patrollers didn't catch any of you Lol.

It beats my mind how people are crammed into their homes during lockdown, when it is so much healthier outside.
Wear a mask, keep your distance, watch your hygiene and surely you will be all right. As long as one does not get caught up in a crowd, or get into contact with an infected person then my feeling is that all will be okay, but I am not a medical expert and these are just my own thoughts.

Some ,might say that I am tempting fate, because I fall in the danger age bracket, I have a rebellious auto immune system, high blood pressure and all the rest of it. But I am a person that does not worry too much about those things. The way I see things is that if my number is up, then so be it. In the meantime I live my life (until I fall over hahaha)!

And That's All Folks!

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

steem verified!.png

Sort:  

It's rubbish when you fall into the danger bracket for whatever reason but you are right, get outside and feel the wind and sun on your skin. So good for you.

Well, at least we have learned to take it as it comes my friend.
Health is what it is, either you have it or you don't.
While I have a fair bit of it the wind and the sun will have a fair share of me. I am sure that you feel the same.

I do, I do!! The best way to live is to live!

If dinosaurs would have known that they would end up being mere chickens and that some of the fanciest ones would be on coins... 😂

Hahaha, almost Einsteinish here in this comment.
I can clearly see why your tag name is @creativemary
Thank you for the kind visit and take care!

Hahahaha thank you, have a great day😊

You also have yourself a great weekend!

How I long to go for a long walk on the beach; imagine we're not allowed to do this but we can go and stand in supermarket queues, just crazy! I'm very interested to see what the government's going to do with the new court ruling declaring the lockdown regulations as invalid and unconstitutional! Interesting times ahead!
PS That Caspian Tern is a real beaut, lovely photo!
Blessings to you and your lovely Marian!

Appealed with taxpayers money as usual Lady Lizelle.
We escaped again today as I have now really had enough of this lot.

Yeah, but the bugger just sat and I was so hoping that he would fly.
Their wingspan is over 1 metre and I would have loved to kiss him in flight with my camera.
Hope that you guys have a good weekend!

I feel the same, am fed up with all the nonsence! But our beaches have too many police patrols:)

Well make a plan my friend.
Hire a wheelchair and let hubby push you down onto the beach.
When a cop rocks up, say the following to him.

"Good day sir, what a lovely gloss on your cheeks, are you in love by any chance, or just very healthy"? I bet you are going to ask what we are doing here, as you look like a very responsible person. Well could you perhaps help my hubby to get the wheelchair a bit closer to the ocean, as I have a foot condition and my doctor advised that I should dip my feet into the shallows, as the sea water would help to heal the circulation in my feet"?

Then you put your prettiest smile on and look at him with innocent doe like eyes Lol.

If this doesn't work, we will send you bail money hahaha.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

A great thank you @diyhub and @priyanarc

Loading...

So glad you are getting out for your walks on the beach - such a beautiful place with some lovely shots!

My feelings exactly that it's much healthier to get outside in the sun then stay crammed up in your home! I can't even imagine what that would be like for I make a point of it to go out every day even when it's cold out in winter unles it drops to -40 Celsius then I'll stay in by the fires!

Wow! I think that it would be a challenge to go out at -40C my friend.
We both seem to live at extremes as far as the weather is concerned, as some areas here go up to the late +40S and early +50S in summer. Also too hot to go outside.
I cannot imagine even -5C LOL.

And I not imagine over 35 C. I really do not know what it is to be hot because of the weather but cold, that is a different story!

It seems that you are an expert in cold and we are experts in heat lol.
Amazing come to think of it, about how the human body can adapt to opposite extremes!

I love that tern, it's such a pretty bird! You are getting one great shot after another. It's good that you're getting outside, it would be awful to be locked inside. It was never like that here and now things are really opening up again. Any idea how soon that will come in your area?

Thank you Sir Keith, we are now in level 3 and the state of emergency was extended until the 15th of July.
Then we presume that level 2 will be declared for another month, so we will only return to normality closer to the end of this year.

We slipped out again today as you will see lol.
Blessings!

I don't know what all the levels mean and I believe different terminology is being used around the world but reading about your situation makes me feel we got off easy here in Victoria. We've had no new cases on Vancouver Island for a month and there are no active cases remaining... and still many things remain closed!

They are saying that it will linger here until the end of the year.
You can imagine how crowded the shacks are in the townships and it's easy for the virus to grow there. But then, the streets are just as crowded, so we cannot see any changes soon.
Glad that your end is cleared!

Photography of the Tern and the Gull both superb!

Escape the boundaries of your home, wish it were so easy down here cops are patrolling beaches in great numbers with Sardine run!

Another gorgeous day here watching the monkeys frolicking around in total freedom outside in the trees.

Hahaha, I would love to know what those monkeys are thinking about these covid rules lol. Party time! Maybe not, as everyone is home and they cannot raid. CR should expect a letter from the United Associated and Connected Monkey Union.
I can tell you now, were there to be a Sardine run here, the whole town will be down there and nobody will stop them.