Upon a late winter afternoon.

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

164.JPG

My wife and our little Troy in the late afternoon sun here at home.

Winter in South Arica is like summer in the snow laden countries and at 20C here we put our jackets on.
The people up north in our country put their coats on at 25C temperatures hahaha.
The summer spoils us with very high temperatures and thankfully we don't go below 0C here during winter.
Here's some beauties that I took an hour ago here at home.

A Cape Robin Chat (Cossypha caffra) sat thinking over the events of his day.
107.JPG

He departed and the Southern Double-collared female sunbird popped out of her nest to sit on the same branch to do some preening.
086.JPG

Not many of you like crows, but I do and he sat in a tree to enjoy the sun. next to their nest that is in a high palm tree.
126.JPG

A Ringneck dove was also preening before bed time.
196.JPG

Here was the male Southern Double-collared sunbird with his tinkling song to say good night to the day before bedtime.
175.JPG

Finally, the moon rounded off my my shots and this post.
206.JPG

Now this is how the birds greet the end of their day, as they have all had supper and it was time for them to retire.
Of course some of them watch the TV in the sky and others are busy with their own things before finally bedding down.
Sounds exactly like us doesn't it?

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS.

We hope you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity

Sort:  

I love watching TV in the sky as well. :D Such amazing shots, sometime last week I was clicking away at a purple sun bird, they are so tiny but sing so beautifully in their silver toned voices, I am listening to them as I type this. Active little things. Your cape Robin chat looks stunning. Enjoyed this post so much. Thank you for the share.

Ah! Sorry I missed this.

A kittle purple sunbird you say? Do you know it specie name?
Only purple one that we have here is the Amethyst and only his chest is purple.
I hope that you got some shots of the bird?

Glad that you enjoyed the post and have some !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@sofs-su! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)

Thanks for the pizza, in India we have the purple sunbirds (Cinnyris asiaticus) just that the feathers are a metallic purple not green or amethyst. Yeah I did get a few shots in, need to resize it to post here, will do it tomorrow.

Right and it makes sense that we do not have the here as the (asiaicus) explains that they are in Asia.
I will look for the post.

Blessings!

Your dog must not be awake yet haha

Hahaha, yes it's cold here and he loves the sun.

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@xuanphuc98! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (5/10)

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

@arcange and the team, thank you kindly for the walk with us over the years and it has been a long slog, but we all never give up easily.
So here's to the walk continuing into the future.

All blessings be to you guys ❤️

Thank you @papilloncharity
!LUV

Thank you kindly my friend and hopefully many more for both of us to come.
By grace of course.

I hope you've had a good night, Zac 😊

Well, 20C is a t-shirt day, warm and cozy 😁

All nice photos here as usual, my friend, and I tried to find my favourite. Maybe it is the photo of Marian and Troy enjoying the warm afternoon sun or the Ringneck dove cleaning herself before she goes to bed which looks kind of cute too 😉

Have a wonderful Sunday Zac 🌞


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Thank you my friend and yes, the night was good, as I slept with the hat under my pillow 🤣

Nope, all of the women wear coats and scarves here in 20C 🤣

As long as you like the photos it is good enough for me mate.
I get a bit confuese with the replies here as yesterday was Sunday and I have just remembered that you must have been out on the bike yesterday. What a Klutz I am 😜

Cheers and thanks.

Cheers and thanks.

Haha, so the hat couldn't escape - good idea, Zac 👍

I guess when you are used of hot temperatures you really feel cold in our "heat". I can often see the Migrants wearing coats and hats while we are in shorts and flip-flops :)

I have been back home in the evening and typed the replies on my phone in bed because I couldn't sit anymore 🤣


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Our bodies can acclamitize to any weather systems Hannes.
I stayed in very hot areas when I still worked as a contractor and after a year or two I got used to their weather. Phalaborwa is one of our hottest towns and when I worked there I almost fainted at the beginning, but after a couple of months I got used to the heat.

People can survive in deserts and the Eskimos survive in ice. So yes, I can understand why the migrants wear coats over there, especially if they are from Africa 🤣

Now I wonder why you can't sit anymore. Maybe it has something to do with going on a long ride somewhere? 🤣

Cheers and thanks.

That's true Zac, but when the temperatures are high and then fall very low people get health problems, at least here.

I "couldn't" sit anymore and you have known the reason, of course ;) But it's all okay again and I've been on a short ride around the lake this afternoon :)


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Luckily here the people are used to it my friend. We will also get used to it in a few more years here.

You and I are suckers for punishment, but we don't care as we just continue doing what we love to do.
When you get old, your bum is going to be square shaped from all of the rides, but who cares as you will be old in any case 🤣

Cheers and thanks.

Yeah, that's right people get used of the weather and temperatures over the years living on a new place.

Haha, when your butt hurts like hell and you know that you have to ride another 100 kilometers you will certainly care, at least I do 🤣
But I don't care about how it looks, that's right 😎


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber, sorry!

You can call the PIZZA bot a maximum of 20 times per day.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@papilloncharity! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (19/20)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Connect

Trade


@papilloncharity! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (5/20)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It’s unusual for me to see a winter like this! It seems to be warm outside, +20 degrees, but in the picture of trees without leaves...

Strange but true my friend.

It is officially winter here and when we first arrived here, a farmer told me that we can have 4 seasons in one day.
The reason is because we are on the southernmost tip of the African continent.

So yes, they call it "The Cape of Storms"

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@bartolomee! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (8/10)