Why do seabirds gather like this?

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

058.JPG

Have you ever seen so many species of birds together? Oystercatchers (bottom left), Seagulls, Cormorants and White breasted Cormorants!

Well, it's party time because of all the available food here!

**As usual there is a surprise in the last 3 photos! **

The severe winds have driven hundreds of small fish into the protection of the rocks and we didn't know this until an old man appeared next to me to tell me that they were either resting with full stomachs, or fighting for a share of the fish caught.
Come and have a look!

068.JPG

The gulls keep on patrolling and every time that the cormorant in the water comes up from a dive with a fish in his beak, the gulls attack him to get the fish!
Look at the wind on a wave back there!

176.JPG

What is that? Yes an Egyptian goose also joined the hunt in the sea and you can see the wind turning up the collar on his neck here!

181.JPG

Yes, it really is an Egyptian goose in the sea.
Many don't believe me when I tell them about the geese in the ocean, because geese are vegetarians 🤣

Now! As promised here below is the surprise!

075.JPG

Terns, a cloud of Terns was also resting and hunting here!

087.JPG

NASA, we have a lift off! They decided that I was coming too close!

088.JPG

Did I say that we had a cloud of Terns?
This photo above looks like a cloud to me?

And That not All Friends!

194.JPG

To conclude the post properly, I decided to show you this land/sea scape!

Now That's All Friends!

We are discovering many secrets of the ocean and thankfully that lonely old man appeared to tell me that the birds know where the small fish gather during high winds.
Then the old many strolled off, gave Marian a gift that he had picked up on the beach and disappeared.
But this lesson will stand me in good stead in the future!

I also got a Kingfisher hunting successfully with a gull chasing him and some other shots, but that is for another post.

We hope that you have enjoyed the post and all photos are my own. Taken with a Canon Powershot SX60HS

Thank you for visiting the blog of @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

A sincere thank you to @qurator and @ackhoo for the kind support!
Blessings to your work!

hello happy sunday, you always have many animals
Do you know how lucky you are?
I love all and very varied feathers

Hi @txatxy and thank you for popping in.
Yes, this is now our second year in this paradise and we are indeed lucky to have ended up here.

Glad that you liked the post and may you have a great new week my friend!

Lovely bird shots! I like that clouds of terns... :)

Thank you my kind friend.
Yes, the terns was indeed a magical experience and they are some of the fastest seabirds here. I love to get them on camera.

We hope that you will have a great new week!

I wonder what they all are telling eachother hahahah and we are the same I guess always joining in groups and having fun have a great Sunday

Oh yeah, one would wonder at their conversations lol.
I often compare nature's ways to human life and there are so many sad differences.
These are all prepared to share and no one is sitting and begrudging others.

May you have a good week!

Natures life is like ours i know it is, they watch us and the other way around we watch them

That's maybe the only part that we share with nature.

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

Thank you kindly!

I like the last picture, where different nuances of blue easily blend into the sky. Lovely!

Thank you and amazing how perceptive you are.
I also love a natural blending of colors!

😊 The eye of the artist

Well, I saw your body paint post and it was very arty.
Similar metallic colors to my Malachite!
Have a look at my post today and you will see that the colors match!

The Malachite has gorgeous colours!

Yes indeed and you will understand my love for them when you see one in real life.

Stunning photos, The little fish try to find safety and end up becoming lunch! Thanks for sharing these hungry Feathered Friends!
!tip

Yes indeed and it was so amazing to see milady.
The intelligence of the birds to gather there in the conditions is also what grabbed me. Every time that a cormorant pops up from a dive with a fish, the gulls rob them.

The Kingfisher dives from on high into this melee and when he gets a fish, the gulls chase chase him.
But one other amazing thing, as the gulls don't go near the terns. They sit in big groups separate from the other birds and they hunt in a gang. Not one gull tried to rob them. But of course the gulls can't match the speed of the terns.

Such is ocean life my dear friend

Great observations! Good to know that terns can outwit those mugger gulls! 😁

Hahaha, I figure that you know that I love those terns milady.
Their speed and craft is astonishing and that's why our military's jet aircaft wings are shaped like the wings of the terns.
So that no gull aircraft can catch them lol.

Do you think gull aircraft are more like passenger planes?

Oh indeed I do, as passenger planes are slow and they swallow all of the human fishes that they can get 🤣

Interesting that the winds effect where the birds find good fishing areas! Love that shot of the terns lifting off!
The last photo creates a longing to be at the sea in me - I do love the ocean and the bird life there but alas I am land locked so I will get my ocean fixes from your photography!

Yes and I also found it very interesting. The strong winds places more force in the waves and the small fish hide in the rocks.
The terns are fabulous birds!
Glad that I can bring some ocean life to you in your landlocked situation my friend.