Win some and lose some!

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

064.JPG

I heard a consistent familiar call that did not belong in nature!

A plaintive call almost the same as when Australia loses to South Africa in a sporting event, most notably rugby 🤣
This Cockatiel is an Australian bird that has somehow ended up in a cage in South Africa and he decided to make his escape into nature.
So now he ended up high in a tree screaming anxiously that will be sure to draw the predators.
Come and have a look!

It was one of those weird high wind days with icicles in the air that form a halo around the sun!
041.JPG

I found him after tracing his call and he was high up in one of the trees!
059.JPG

A beautiful parrot like bird that many keep as pets!
051.JPG

But what is a Cockatiel?

"The cockatiel (Nymphicus hollandicus), also known as weiro bird, or quarrion, is a small parrot that is a member of its own branch of the cockatoo family endemic to Australia. They are prized as household pets and companion parrots throughout the world and are relatively easy to breed".
[Source)(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cockatiel)

Amazing that the name "hollandicus" appears in the specie name, as one would assume that it's a Dutch bird.
062.JPG

Another look at the icicle halo around the sun!
047.JPG

Here the guy was having a bit of sleepy Sunday serenity!
070.JPG

No way that I could get him, even though we tried.
073_LI.jpg

There was no way that I could get him, even though I whistled and placed a white dish out with parrot seeds below the tree.
So, eventually he flew away and I lost him.
Reminded me of so many things in life.

Amazingly the icicles in the air also formed a halo around the moon!
533.JPG

In life at times, we can see it, some object that we would dearly love to get and we try our very best to get it, but then it disappears.
Has this ever happened to you?

And that's All Friends!

Note: All of the photos are my own and taken on the 2020-11-27 with a Canon Powershot SX60HS camera!

We hope that you have enjoyed the photos and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thank you kindly for the support!

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Oh! He's completely white! Maybe he was home and accidentally flew away? We have such cases.

Yes, that was also our thoughts, but the sad thing is that he will not survive in nature!

Once these birds escape they stand little to no chance in the wild, we have managed in prior years to home them after similar predicament.

Caging any animal goes against every fiber in my body, however in a rescue mission I have had cockatiels a couple of times, advertised, never found their owners either.

He might even be dead by now already Lady Joan, but you know me and if there was any posibillity to get him I would have. Just impossible in that high tree even with a water hose. as the wind simply blew the water away.
I was so hoping that he would come down to get some food, but bo luck.

We are the same as far as cages are concerned, but yeah, we also have an emegency cage that has seen many temporary resints. The last one was the rock pigeon that I set free on Saturday morning. The strange thing is that we got her on the 14th and exactly two weeks later she was free. By day she flew alll around in the house here, struggling in the beginning, but getting stronger every day.
Poor Troy had many heart attacks, but when she was ready to go, she took off like a champion.

Great that you rescued them cockatiels my friend.

Blessings!

Was it a cry for help?
I feel for the cockatiel!
Will it survive?

Yes, a very lost cry my friend, but he was unreachable and by now will be dead.
A pity that I could not get to him.
But such is life!

Oh my...
I hate thinking about that!!! . 🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE

Yes and so do I, especially knowing that I could have saved him.
If only I could get to him, but it was impossible, so I just have to accept it.
Thankfully I have saved many and that eases the pain.

Blessings and thank you for the token my friend.

Cheers and !BEER

I'm getting drunk, and I don't even drink beer, hehehe!

Hahaha, vitual party time my friend.
I am giving you another beer, but I don't know if I have one left.
If not then I will have one for you tomorrow!

Cheers and !BEER

I want to know how Beer works.
How come the Beer doesn't show anywhere!


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.