Birds in the grass

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Yep. Most unoriginal post title of the year... but that's what this week's SMAP theme is all about! Our #featheredfriends do take some rest of all the flying around, and hop in on the grass for some fun and food.

And that's exactly where I found this beauty.


66.jpg

Eurasian hoopoe - Upupa epops

Hoopoes are one of my favourite species!! It's impossible to confuse them with any other species: black and white wings, the light brown body, but especially the big crest and beak! And that beak was surely busy.


55.jpg

She was drilling the ground like crazy, hopping around from one spot to the other, probably spreading panic among the small critters she was trying to hunt. Fortunately for me, I had time to run for the camera and capture some moments!


77.jpg

The little sparrow was trying to get some lunch too, but I'm guessing the hoopoe would get all the good stuff first.


Not that far, some other species were just fooling around.


22.jpg

Iberian magpie - Cyanopica cooki

The magpie gang were having some minor disagreements, but no magpie got harmed that day. Other members of the gang were just watching the scene, away from the confusion.


11.jpg

And one of them was... well, I have no clue! Probably trying some fashion poses!


33.jpg

Well, I know who wasn't convinced by the performance. The common blackbird had the most judgemental look I've seen in the whole vacations!


44.jpg

Common blackbird - Turdus merula, male


Far from all this circus, in São Jorge island, another species was walking through the grass.


88.jpg

Common starling - Sturnus vulgaris

I normally see starlings in large noisy groups; this was an exception, a lonely AND quiet sterling.

And speaking of unusual... this one won the prize. During another of my island hikes, I noticed the tall grass moving. And there it was, in the middle of nowhere.


111.jpg

A chicken!! With a chick, both looking at me, before resuming their journey. A wild chicken, fed up of cages, that ran to its freedom?? Well, guess I'll never know! But off they went, free as the wind.


1222.jpg

Now off to see what other birds in the grass are out there in those blogs.

Happy birdings!

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

Sort:  

Hoopoe is umistakable and so beautiful. How I wish to see it again. 🙂
Lovely to see your entry with these wonderful images. Thank you so much!

It's rare for me to see them, let alone photograph them. Hope I'll add more to the collection! !LUV

Who said birds always have to fly? :D This is a lovely collection and I enjoyed every shot. So many cool species here. That deserves some TipU appreciation ;) Cheers!

@tipu curate

Thanks mate! Hoopoes are especially elusive for me, glad this one was too busy feasting to notice me. !BEER


Hey @phortun, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Wow hoopoes are so awesome and unique. I've never seen one. That bill is so long. Its definitely getting bugs that the sparrow has no chance at 🙂 the quarreling magpies, runaway chicken, judgemental blackbird, lonely starling...all fun. And great photos throughout especially the dancing magpie. Very fun pardinus 😁

I think these are the first decent hoopoe photos I take. Thanks for the visit! !BEER


Hey @steven-patrick, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You captures a lovely collection of birds. Love the look of the Hoopoe. I had to chuckle at the chicken on the run. 😆

I definitely wasn't expecting to see a chicken there! 😁 !LUV

What an unusual bird is the hoopoe! I have never heard of it before let alone seen it!
This is a great post, and loved seeing them all!

They are a migrating species, but I think we have already a few resident birds. Thanks for the visit! !LUV

My pleasure, it is always fun to see and capture migrating species:)