Booty time! - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 6

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

What a fun theme this week! This week's theme of the Show Me A Photo Contest is... bottom! You know, those photos that we normally discard? 😁 You can check the contest's post here!


So this means... time for some booty! I had to dig around to find some cool bird's behinds; a couple of them immediatly came to my mind, thow. And the first one, was this:


11.jpg

Indian Peacock / Pavão indiano (PT) - Pavo cristatus, male

This guy decided to appear in the middle of the road during a jeep safari in Udawallawe National park, in Sri Lanka. He appeared first facing us, in a clear "YOU SHALL NOT PASS" stance! Since we just decided to take photos, he probably didn't want to pose for us... so he just showed us his behind! Now I'm glad I've kept it!

This other one was taken a few years ago while hiking in Tihany, Hungary. I had climbed a small mount, and near a viewpoint, found out I wasn't the only one enjoying the view.


1.jpg

Common kestrel / Peneireiro comum (PT) - Falco tinnunculus, female

The kestrel was scouting the ground, looking for prey, and I was fortunate enought to take a ton of photos, as she stood there almost motionless. How can we tell this is a female? We can't! :) But the differences in sexes is clear if you see the head, and she showed it a few times. But this is a booty post, so... no faces! 😉

And that's why we follow to the next booty; another european booty, cthis one nearer my home country. This one was taken during a trip to a Spanish national park, called Picos de Europa. I kept trying to take a decent photo... and well, this was what I got:


2.jpg

I think this was a dunnock, Prunella modularis... but I can't be 100% sure. This wasn't the best angle to bird identification.

To end... back to the beginning! Sri lanka again, and with a special booty:


4.jpg

Sri Lanka grey hornbill - Ocyceros gingalensis

Special for me, because I love booties hornbills, and this is an endemic species of this country; it was the only sighting I got!


So here you go, my bird booties collection! Less photos than usual, but what can I say... those booties were hard to find! 😁

Happy birding everyone!

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

Sort:  

Haha, so lovely to see your photo collection. It is fun how the birds don't care about us and mind their own business.
I hope you will be back in Sri Lanka to meet again this beauty. ☺

We all love a nice... Hornbill! 😅

Hornbills are the best, right? 😉 Cheers! !BEER


Hey @xrayman, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Thank you so much for all the support!