Apartment Birds: Hail to the King(let)

Another bird to add to the birds-seen-from-my-apartment-window tag (probably not a real tag) is the ruby-crowned kinglet, Regulus calendula, seen about 30 minutes ago from my bedroom window. Perfect for a #featheredfriday post!

IMG_9463p.png

The ruby-crowned kinglet is another winter visitor where I live. In my experience, this bird is usually heard before spotted - the kinglet gives a distinct call that sounds like someone furiously typing on an old typewriter. I have never heard the kinglet's song in person because they are only winter visitors and aren't singing this time of year, but I have heard it on the All About Birds website and it is pretty cute!

IMG_9465p.png

After hearing this bird announce himself, you can usually find him flitting around in the canopy of trees gleaning insects from the foliage. They do not stay still for very long at all, so I rarely am able to get a photo. They are notorious for being non-stop movers while feeding.

IMG_9477p.png

Lucky for me, this fella was foraging in the leaf litter directly under my window. Normally I would have to shoot through the glass or through the screen, but today I was able to take advantage of the broken screen that one of our cats pushed out of the frame last week (he almost gave me a heart attack when I caught him straddling the window frame and the loose screen which looked about to fall out). I was able to stick my camera lens straight down to where he was hopping around. He occasionally looked up at me, but mostly paid me no mind.

IMG_9484p.png

The kinglet is named for the bright red crown of the males. They usually have this hidden and only flash it when agitated or excited. This guy started to expose his just before he took off. I hope to one day get a photo of a full-on crown flash.

IMG_9462.png

Some other distinguishing field marks of the ruby-crowned kinglet include a white wingbar with a wider dark wingbar underneath, a broken eye-ring with dark eye, and yellow along the edges of the tail and wing feathers. The rest of the body is an olive color and they have a cute, little, pointed beak.

I haven't had the energy to go out birding, so it makes me happy to be able to do a little from the warmth of my bedroom from time to time.

And if you were curious about the window screen....

IMG_2518.jpg
I guess I will be taking advantage of this until our apartment fixes it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @passerine! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You received more than 2000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 3000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It is very nice, you can appreciate its red crown, very nice photos.

Thank you!

Love this little bird he's adorable.

I have a question. How many microseconds did this incredible nimble restless bird sit?😁
I know that birds of this species are extremely restless and very difficult to photograph.
In any case, you are a professional! Great shots.👍
In Siberia, in coniferous forests, they live almost the same, but with a yellow mohawk.

Very few seconds of sitting still, but luckily because he was on the ground and not in the bushes I was able to get decent photos! In the US we also have golden-crowned kinglets which have a yellow crown and look very similar to the kinglets I think you are talking about! Such energetic, cute birds!

What a cute little bird! I always take my screens down in the winter so that I have a clear picture taking view. We have ruby crowned kinglets here, too, but I have only seen one a couple of times.
They like the conifer woods to the north and I have only seen them during migration.
Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!