Show Me A Photo Contest Round 88: A solitary pigeon and others in company

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Greetings friends, this is my first participation in this #SMaP bird photo contest, with this week's theme Shadows of birds.

Since I was a child I have had a very close relationship with pigeons, because many pigeons used to come to my backyard to eat and even in on two occasions we had pairs of pigeons hatching their eggs in a tall cabinet in the kitchen.

I remembered that last year I had photographed a solitary pigeon in a park in the city of Caracas, called El Laguito, just because it has an artificial lake where different types of birds arrive, especially waterfowl. I like to go there because it is a haven of peace in the busy city and the birds are free, they can come and go as they please.

20220527_074953.jpg

The sun was shining brightly and she was standing very close to where I was sitting, admiring the scenery near the lagoon. She was looking for sticks or twigs to make her nest.

20221004_141618.jpg

These other photos were taken a few days ago at Plaza Bolivar in the city of Maracay, where I live. I was walking through the square in full sunlight, at 2 o'clock in the afternoon. There were the pigeons looking for food on the ground, and flying quickly when people came too close, their instinct to protect themselves against danger.

Pigeons are birds that frequent a lot the squares in my country and in many cities and towns it is like that, they have become accustomed to live near us humans. The reason for this behavior I am not sure, but what I do know is that people feed them and especially children like to do so. They give them rice, bits of bread or cookies. And they come in groups to eat.

20221004_132103.jpg

Many for reading and I want to thank @nelinoeva and the team that supports this initiative and here I leave the link for those who want to participate in this beautiful contest .

Decidimos nuestra propia libertad.jpg

The pictures were taken with a Samsung S6 edge phone.

Sort:  

Indeed, pigeons can be seen everywhere and they are accustomed to the people.
Nice shadows you have captured. 🙂

They are very sociable birds. Thank you for your comment 😊🌹