A Beautiful Sublime Sunday - Following the Geese

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

I found the Canada Geese are pretty tough characters for they return when there is still snow and ice.

They will return back to the area they were born in and I think it must be a bit of a shock when they find it covered with snow and ice.

Because I had found the spots where the geese had nested last year I went to check if any pairs of geese had returned to claim those spots. Sure enough I saw their heads poking out from the reeds.

3 Canada Geese Looking Out From Reed Bed

3 geese looking out from reeds.JPG

As I came closer the geese went out into the open water where they would feel safer.

Flock of Canada Geese Swimming in Open Water by Ice

geese swimming in open water by ice all looking in 1 direction.JPG

While I was watching these geese a pair of geese landed out on the ice. They were making a bit of a ruckus honking. and started to walk towards the ones in the open water. As they got closer I thought the others may chase them away for they can be territorial.

That didn't happen they just joined in with the others.

Geese had Landed on Ice and Began Making a Ruckus

2 geese walking on ice wing stretched beak open honking.JPG

As they got closer to the others they got quieter and the geese swimming in the water seemed to pay them no heed.

Canada Geese Walking on Ice to Open Water

2 pairs of geese on open water 2 geese walking on ice towards them.JPG

Close Up Canada Goose Standing on the Ice

Canada goose standing on ice.JPG

Another area I went to check out had some geese swimming around in the open water. As I got closer they got out of the water and walked onto the ice

Small Flock of Geese Swimming in Open Water by Ice

flock of geese swimming in open water by ice.JPG

It was mostly geese in this area although I did see some ducks fly over and there was a pair of ducks swimming in the open water by the ede of the pond but they were in a bit of bush and I never go a good shot of them.

I did manage to catch a duck in flight as I was taking photos of the geese up on the ice.

Duck Flying by Geese Standing on Ice

5 geese standing on ice 1 duck flying by.JPG

A pair of geese further away from me didn't seem to care if I was there and were busy grooming themselves up on the ice.

Geese Grooming Themselves Standing on Ice

2 geese standing on ice1 scratching head 1 grooming chest.JPG

After watching these geese for away I visited another place by a farmers field which was full of stubble and some water which had formed a bit of a pond with the melting snow. Here I found some ducks too.

Pair of Canada Geese 1 Resting 1 Feeding Plus Mallard Ducks Feeding

pair geese 1 resting 1 feeding mallard ducks feeding in water and ravens in field.JPG

The fellow in the picture below was stretching his wings showing off how powerful they were.

Close Up Canada Goose Stretching It's Wings Mallards Feeding Nearby

Canada Goose Stretching wings mallards feeding.JPG

Pair of Geese Swim by Mallards Feeding

pair of geese swimming mallads feeding.JPG

Mallard Ducks Feeding Bottoms Up

5 mallard ducks feeding bottoms up.JPG

Close Up Mallards Feeding 3 Bottoms Up

mallard ducks feeding 3 bottoms up.JPG

After a bit some of the geese went out into the stubble to feed.

Canada Geese Feeding in the Stubble

4 Canada geese feeding in the field.JPG

There was a number of Ravens in the field by the pond. I think there was a carcass there.

3 Ravens Taking Flight Others in Grasses

goose resting ducks feeding 3 ravens taking flight.JPG

Pair of Ravens in the Polar Tree

pair of raven in poplar tree full of buds.JPG

That's it for this time around. I sure enjoyed watching the ducks and geese and i hope you did too!

Bird images are for the #FeatheredFriends community hosted by @melinda010100

The image of the ducks feeding bottoms up is my entry for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest withe a theme - Busy Birds. Details found here: https://peakd.com/hive-106444/@nelinoeva/feathered-friends-show-me-a-65e9e52944d4d

image.png

This is my Amazing Nature Contest April 2021 - #02 entry. See details here

Big shout out to @ace108 for running the Beautiful Sunday tag every week supporting the accounts. Also to @c0ff33a for the Sublime Sunday tag for your random Sunday posts!

The photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

Thanks for stopping by!


Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

MINDFULLIFE.png MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Discord II Community**

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

Ruckus greeting on arrival, happy to see each other return. What a celebration of life in Spring coming home to roost.

Lovely photography with everything arriving back to the region @porters

Always funny the bootoms up photos. Birds don't care how funny they look, they are pretty busy. ☺

I think they didn't expect or know the snow was going to be there

The bottoms up photos were great! :)) I'm glad you share the birds you find at the pond. I don't have anything like that near me.

I'm happy your enjoying them - I enjoy sharing them!
It has become a Spring ritual to look for the geese and ducks for there are plenty up here!
I'm hearing the cranes now but have yet to get a photo of them.