Birdwatcher's Log : 30.04.21

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

I returned! It's time to talk about my hike last Friday.
I spent about 9 hours in the forest, very tired. But it was worth it. Firstly, I made a route for a future ornithological tour, and secondly, a lot of birds flew in and I was able to take good photos.

_04_05_2021_120328.jpg

The first bird I met was the The European robin (Erithacus rubecula). I was very glad that they had already arrived. They are very beautiful in appearance, and their songs are wonderful.

_04_05_2021_120344.jpg

This buddy sat on the branches and sang a song.

_04_05_2021_120400.jpg

In the same place, on the territory of the old cemetery, there was a huge number of The redwing (Turdus iliacus). And this is weird! Usually the fieldfares are the most numerous of our thrushes, but for some reason there were practically none of them.

_04_05_2021_120416.jpg

The whole neighborhood was filled with their strange, incomprehensible songs.
_04_05_2021_120446.jpg

And this The great spotted woodpecker (Dendrocopos major) was drumming on wood. I decided to play along with him, and turned on the sounds of a woodpecker on the bluetooth speaker. He immediately jumped on a branch and began to look around.

_04_05_2021_120502.jpg

Of course there were many The common chaffinch(Fringilla coelebs). They sang, marking the boundaries of the territories they occupied.

_04_05_2021_120545.jpg

And by this time the females had already arrived. Here is this female in the photo, she quickly flapped her wings and behaved like a chick. It became clear that she was begging for a treat from the male

_04_05_2021_120515.jpg

Just by chance I met a The European pied flycatcher (Ficedula hypoleuca).
Why by chance? Because I didn't hear them. Usually they sing songs, but this bird just flew by in silence. Probably she is here by flight, or has not yet found her territory.

_04_05_2021_120530.jpg

There were many The European greenfinch(Chloris chloris). But unfortunately, in our city they are unusually shy, and it is very difficult to make a high-quality photo.

_04_05_2021_120623.jpg

Finally, after passing the cemetery, I reached the forest. There I immediately met a The brambling (Fringilla montifringilla). The top photo is a female.

_04_05_2021_120724.jpg

And this is a male. As always, these birds are rather cautious and do not let them get close to them.

_04_05_2021_120647.jpg

The ubiquitous The great tit (Parus major) are singing songs with might and main.

img_20210430_142418.jpg

Despite the fact that it is already the middle of spring, it is still possible to occasionally meet snow in the forest, and even a little ice on the river.

_04_05_2021_120702.jpg

Going down to the river, I saw a subtle movement. It was The tree pipit (Anthus trivialis). It's great that they have already arrived. You know, it is rather difficult to notice him among the foliage and grass, it seems to merge with it.

_04_05_2021_120748.jpg

Hearing the song of the The coal tit (Periparus ater), I immediately turned on her voice. She quickly flew in, sat on a branch and began to scream in alarm. After a while, she calmed down, but did not fly away, but began to sing a perky song, not at all afraid of me.

_04_05_2021_120813.jpg

img_20210430_142926.jpg

I passed another hill and climbed another. There was a small tributary of the river that you can even step over with your foot.

_04_05_2021_120834.jpg

Wandering through the difficult place, I heard a piercing whistle. It was a The hazel grouse (Tetrastes bonasia).
This chicken ran very quickly through the foliage, and, what surprises me in these birds, they do it silently!

_04_05_2021_120847.jpg

Then I moved on to the river. And on the branches I heard The Bohemian waxwing (Bombycilla garrulus). There were about 6 birds, they sat and basked in the sun, rested. This is understandable, they fly to the north, and since they have just reached us, they have been flying for quite a long time and for a long time.


riv.jpg

Finally I reached the river. I examined the coast, the fact is that 3 years ago a beaver lived here, he gnawed and knocked down some trees. I looked for new tracks.

_04_05_2021_120902.jpg

After the river I went on. And suddenly I saw a couple of large birds. I examined them and it turned out to be two The Oriental turtle dove (Streptopelia orientalis). These birds are in the Red Book and are protected as very rare.

_04_05_2021_120918.jpg

And so, after a long journey, I reached the hills with a small meadow, one of my favorite places, unfortunately the road to it is very long.
There, in the bushes near the river, I saw a bird that had never before been seen in these places - a The long-tailed rosefinch (Carpodacus sibiricus).

_04_05_2021_120935.jpg

This is a female. Males are very beautiful pink and white. It was very difficult to take these photos even in this quality. The bird was very afraid of me and did not let me get close.

_04_05_2021_120957.jpg

And a The black kite (Milvus migrans) was flying overhead all the time over this meadow and hill.

The road home was also long and difficult, along a different path. But that was the idea of my route. I hope soon I will lead people along this route, and we will see all these birds again. Thanks for reading!

456.png



Sort:  

Robins are always so friendly looking birds! I love them.

Me too!

You have some cool nature there and it looks it start to get also green too :)
and to get all this birds it is not easy, I'm sure you was feel good when you was get them ;)

Thank you!😉

Весна пришла. Птички распелись.Подзывают себе пару. Надо гнёзда вить для потомства.