Wildlife : Birdwatching - 1380 🐦

in Feathered Friends β€’ 2 years ago

dsc_5492.jpg

πŸ¦‰ The Eurasian jay (Garrulus glandarius brandtii )

πŸ“š Garrulus lat.: garrire to chat, babble, chirp, garrulus talkative, chirping, noisy; ax prone to..
πŸ“š glandarius glandis, glans (lat.) acorn
πŸ“š brandtii brandti, Fedor Fedorovich Brandt (Johann Friedrich von Brandt, 1802–1879), Russian zoologist and physician.

dsc_5494.jpg

This colorful, funny corvid is about the size of a pigeon. There are different subspecies, and the subspecies that you see in my photos is "Siberian". This differs from the rest by bright red head.

dsc_5497.jpg

Corvids are known for their way of imitating the voices of other birds and even human speech.
Jay, of course, can do all this too.

dsc_5499.jpg

Once in the autumn in the forest I heard the cry of a black woodpecker. I was delighted, went to the sound and prepared to photograph the woodpecker. But what was my surprise when I saw a jay sitting on a branch, which screamed with the voice of a woodpecker.

dsc_5504.jpg



Sort: Β 

I love jays because of their beautiful feathers but also because of their smile 😊 Your last photo wonderfully shows it πŸ˜‰πŸ˜