Wildlife : Birdwatching - 880 🐦

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

dsc_3277_1.jpg

🔶 The white-backed woodpecker (Dendrocopos leucotos)

This friend was quietly exploring the trees near the swamp. And he was lucky to find insects inside the bark and eat them. Yes, outwardly he is very similar to his relative - the great spotted woodpecker, but there are some differences.

dsc_3278_1.jpg

This woodpecker is very fond of old loose, rotten and fallen trees. He is less fearful and much easier to get closer to him. He is silent. It is rare to hear his voice. And of course he looks different. On his lower body, on the abdomen, there are variegated stripes. Males have red feathers all over their heads. And his undertail is much lighter.
He pecked at the trees when I looked at him. And only after hearing the sound of the camera shutter he looked in my direction.

dsc_3275_1.jpg

456.png



Sort:  

Отличное фото. Дятел такой трудяшка.

Nice shots! I like woodpeckers. Whenever I hear one I always try to find it (which is not always so easy).
Unfortunately I don't have the gear to capture them this close. Well done!

That is such a pretty bird! Great photos! 💕