You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Resident Robin

That a cute little visitor to have. I have a few here and I love to see them patrolling the lawn for worms and insects. They will go south when the colder weather comes. I did have one that stayed all winter because he was waiting for this mate who I found dead in the hedge, I threw out cut up apples and he would pick at them. The ground was frozen so he couldn’t get any worms. The next year he went South in winter and returned many years. I actually wrote a story about him on Hive but I can’t find the link now.

Sort:  

Our weather must be much milder here in the UK. Winter is a time when we tend to see them most, hence their association with Christmas. I will be putting out food, particularly mealworms, for him and my other feathery visitors.

Yes, you have a milder winter than here in Canada. Good you feed the little ones. I also leave out bird seed, nuts, cat food, bread, etc for them. If they don’t eat it all the raccoon comes by at night and cleans up leftovers. 😆 I have lots of blue jays that visit all winter along with others.

No raccoons here, just grey squirrels which are beautiful but considered an invasive species as they're not native to the UK.