Happy #featheredfriday all bird lovers!

Happy #featheredfriday everyone.

Here are some shots of a bird who looks so much like a woodpecker but I can't get a positive ID on him.

IMG_0169 2.jpg

IMG_0163.jpg

IMG_0160.jpg

IMG_0165.jpg

So I can't leave the post without an identified bird... I don't know why, it just doesn't seem right so here is one I did identify..

Meet the bi-coloured Antbird who made a nest close to my front door.
IMG_0270.jpg

and just because he's adorable... the Fiery Billed Aracari - a small Toucan hiding in the green depths of the jungle... but I saw him.
IMG_0300.jpg

It's easy to be blissed out on nature with all these guys around! I am humbled by their presence!

So a happy birding weekend ahead for us all I trust!
Enjoy yours!

Stay Wild xxx

Sort:  

Nice pictures! I really like aracari's.

The way #1 'hangs' on the tree it surely looks like a woodpecker to me.
Where are you situated? I can try to help you identify it.

thanks for commenting. Southern Costa Rica on the Pacific side.

Could it be a plain-winged wood creeper?

plain-winged wood creepe

it certainly could be and it does creep like a creeper for sue. Good investigating @friendlymoose.

Lovely shots!
I am so jealous because with my smartphone, I cannot take bird images :))
Have an amazing weekend!

Thank you so much for your kind comment, you have an amazing weekend too xx

Nice capture of these lovely birds! So lucky to be among them!

Thanks my friend.

Google thinks it is a Woodcreeper. I've missed you! Hope all is well.

It's nice to be back and thanks for such a nice comment, bless you. I have been crazy busy with voiceover work for the last few weeks - it's so nice to have some time again and be back on hive more regularly.

I didn't know you did voice over work! A friend of mine did that years ago. I thought it was fascinating. I have lost touch with her, but thanks for reminding me of happy memories!

Ah sweet, so nice to shake up good memories. It is fun work being a voice actor and varied too as I work for people all over the world. Sorry for late reply, lost power for a few days.

Good photos. Yes, the first bird is similar in structure to a woodpecker.
By the way, I advise the "inaturalist" application, the system itself determines the type of animal / plant, and if it does not, then experts will advise.

thanks for the app suggestion, I will check it out.