The Olivaceous Cormorant in Costa Rica

This is a beautiful Olivaceous Cormorant. It is a medium-sized bird and this cormorant is native to South America. My photos here are taken in Southern Costa Rica.

Screenshot 2021-04-15 at 19.54.04.png

Interestingly it is the only cormorant that dives from mid-air into the water to catch fish. They are found in tropical and subtropical areas in South America, their diet consisting primarily of small fish, tadpoles and frogs.

Screenshot 2021-04-15 at 19.53.46.png

I photographed this one close to where the river runs into the sea. The zoom on my Canon Powershot SX60 HS allowed me to get these amazing photos of him early morning.

Screenshot 2021-04-15 at 19.53.15.png

What a fabulous bird he is.

Screenshot 2021-04-15 at 19.52.56.png

Thanks for stopping by.

Stay Wild xxx

C3TZR1g81UNbFzApDTmvFYMje8p1iesaAcNjSh7JWYRuG23T5ZTTy9NVXGGgq4xDivGn7YkQvdjcePJa3f3cxhZstaVQAL4GZXKy5L9xMsf8YEuMipcrt4N.png

Sort:  

Happy to see these kind of birds and its information. We can't find these type of birds in our native.

Great shots, these cormorants look very much like the ones we have here. (Pacific coast of Canada.) I'm not sure if they would be the exact same species.

It may be the same. Thanks for that.

It seems to me a Phalacrocorax brasilianus, I got to take some photos of it, they are curious, it is not so difficult to photograph them, do I make it difficult for you? !discovery 15

Yes that is it. It goes by both names.It was not difficult no but I don't try and get too close to any birds for photographs. I let my camera close in on my behalf.

It has engaged solar panel mode.

Beautiful birds these cormorants. I like it when I see them with spreaded wings to dry in the sun (their feathers arent very water-repellent like other water birds).

Very nice shots. Although I do think the close-ups are cropped a little bit tight.
Did you crop them in after-editing?

thanks - that's good information

Beautiful images. I love cormorants, they have very elegant poses.

I feel just the same , thanks

Very handsome bird! The water is blue and beautiful.

Thank you - he is handsome yes.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Great shots along with info @sallybeth23