Feathered Friday - Tricky Juvenile Birds

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Here are a few birds I've spotted before the summer solstice for #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p7093614_copy.jpg
Here is a somewhat mysterious juvenile bird of some sort. It let me get pretty close and I can tell it isn't fully filled out with feathers.

p7093613_copy.jpg
It is also rather large so I'm guessing this might be a juvenile female meadow lark as I can see a hint of yellow on its throat.

p7093608_copy.jpg
Here is another mystery bird. I'm guessing it is a warbler of some sort. It kind of resembles a pine warbler but it is much too large and the beak is too thick to be one. I also guessed a palm warbler but they have a bit of pattern on their breast with a reddish brown cap. This guy was about the size of a yellow-rumped warbler maybe I caught one with bright colors or mid transition.

p7043549_copy.jpg
Here is a female red-winged blackbird in the prairie grasses gathering nest material.

p7093658_copy.jpg
I know this one very well, a blue gray gnat catcher. These are very tiny little birds barely larger than a hummingbird.

p7093676_copy.jpg
I spotted a fledgling sparrow as well still begging for food from the parents and learning how to take dust baths.

p7093652_copy.jpg
Here is another sparrow gathering nesting material, probably for a second brood of chicks.

p7093631_copy.jpg
Next I saw some kingbirds in an evergreen tree.
p7093645_copy.jpg
At first I thought they were Eastern Phoebes but then noticed the white edges on the tail feathers.
p7093639_copy.jpg
The beak shape of Eastern Kingbirds is also thicker than Phoebes. These guys are good to have around to eat all the pesky insects.

That's all :-) Happy #featheredfriday

Sort:  

Hello @sketch.and.jam!

wonderful captures !
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @barbara-orenya from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Great photos as always!👍

Thanks :-) the birds are really out this year.

AN excellent collection of lovely birds!