Feathered Friday - Waiting for Spring

in Feathered Friendslast year

It seems like forever since I've posted for #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
and now that winter is here I can only go back to this last spring for bird photos.


The red winged blackbirds are nice signs of spring around here. Currently they have all flown south probably to Florida or some place warm like that to avoid the harsh winters up here.


I love how these guys are easy subjects for photos. They are mostly trying to scare you away from their nesting areas but instead they end up striking nice poses for the camera.


I'm sure the female is super impressed by the male and his ability to scare away humans lol.


The bluebirds also show up around the same time the red wings show up. They all fill up nesting boxes around here quickly. I don't think I've ever even seen a natural bluebird nest around here yet. I just hang around near the nest boxes to try and get them posing on branches.


The coots show up as well, though I rarely see them here other than during spring.


The Northern Shovelers show up here as well for a little while. They look quite a bit like a mallard, but their huge beak distinguishes them from the smaller mallards.


The downy woodpeckers are here all year round, though they are quite a bit more active during spring trying to start new nesting holes.


The red bellied woodpeckers also stay here year round. This one already has a hole pecked out for spring.


Meanwhile the squirrels are quite happy during spring. I see them eating tree buds and grass that springs up.


This one found an old acorn from its winter stash.


Now its time to hang out and crack this thing open. Hopefully the acorn isn't rotten cause this squirrel it tired of eating maple leaf buds.

That's all for now, hopefully I can get out to find some winter birds this weekend. Thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

We just put up our bird feeders so the birds are happy. We have lots of downy, hairy and red bellied woodpeckers that love the suet. And squirrels getting everything that hits the ground. The black birds and blue birds are long gone but lots of nuthatches, chickadee, sparrows, goldfinch. Plus a few bigger birds like bluejays and even the occasional crow.

I wish I could put up feeders on my condo balcony... But it would instantly get engulfed by hoards of sparrows pooping up the whole side of the building lol. I should try setting up a feeding station out in the forest for some winter bird shots. I wonder how many hairy woodpeckers I've mistaken for downy woodpeckers over the years.

I can only tell hairy and downy apart by size. Usually its hard to tell unless you see two at the same time but now I can tell by how big they look compared to my birdfeeder lol

Odds are I might have photos of some hairy woodpeckers that I thought were downy. I'm still trying to get a good shot of a pileated woodpecker, so far I've seen them but my shots turned out blurry.

Hello friends, the bird photo is really beautiful, I like it, welcome from Cambodia, have a good day.

Those birds are a good harbinger of spring around here.

👍blackbirds and bluebirds are just lovely!

Its fun seeing their babies finally emerge from the base of the reeds. That's when the parents get really aggressive and will even peck your head.

Love those redwings! Welcome addition on this cold November morning. :))

They are all having a great time down in Florida right now probably fighting off green iguanas for territory.

I love the red winged blackbirds! Birds are barely present in my photo gallery. That’s when I wish I had a proper camera 😂💙

A zoom lens is definitely helpful for bird photography. Otherwise you can setup a feeder and maybe get them used to you for a low range camera.

The only ones used to me are magpies 😂 Whenever I do some work in the garden they come over and inspect it to steal my worms 😂

I also had a family of blackbirds hatched in my shed and I was leaving them some seeds, but then pigeons came to the party and ate all seeds and left a lot of poo!

Haha the pigeons, that's why I can't put up a feeder on my balcony.

Oh, they have a sixth sense for food! As soon you I put some up they come out of nowhere 😂

Love the one with the old Acorn!

That squirrel was quite happy the winter is finally ending.

It has been awhile since we have seen bird photos from you! Good luck taking photos... Hope the sun comes out for you.

So far no luck on sun this weekend perhaps for Thanksgiving... Its probably a tiny bit colder up there for you. I just see the starlings in huge batches still but everything else is hiding from the cold windy snow.

squirrel is a real acrobat and gymnast!
cool selection of birds

I just got back from taking more photos of squirrels. They are all puffed up from the cold winter wind.