Sunday Bird Sightings

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Here are a few bird sightings on this Sunday.
p5231011_copy.jpg
I found a juvenile Baltimore Oriole that didn't seem to be too shy.

p5231013_copy.jpg
He was poking around the tree looking for insects.

p5231025_copy.jpg
For being so close I wasn't able to get too many clear shots of this guy because he kept jumping around looking for insects.

p5230978_copy.jpg
I visited the tree swallow nest box again. I suspect this might be a different bird than the last one I saw here. Maybe it is starting another brood of chicks.

p5231000_copy.jpg
I also saw a killdeer and managed to capture its red eye from across the river.

p5231058_copy.jpg
My standard testing robin, these are usually the first bird I see when going on a walk and I use them to get my camera settings in order.

p5231059_copy.jpg
The fields are in bloom with all sorts of flowers and the red-winged blackbirds love them.

p5230993_copy.jpg
I found an old photo on the camera from a previous walk where I got a better shot of the common yellow throat. My previous photos were too backlit this one actually got the glint of its eye.

20210611_194742_copy.jpg
My baby sparrow project is still in order. Though I am noticing some damage on his left side of the face. This is probably where he hit the ground after falling out of the nest. So far he is still surviving and eating so I hope this damage heals soon and he can get more lively after a while.

Sort:  

Wow. really bad luck. the bird fell. he needs care from you brother.

Yeah my boss found around three days ago. I've been feeding/watering it since then. Hopefully it will keep growing and heal from its injuries.

Yupp brother. Get well soon. I just lost a cat. I think the cat has been stolen. this really makes me sad.

Hopefully it just went on a long journey and will come back to you.

I hope to be back home soon.

Wow. That bird with red eyes!
ya... I also saw falling out of the nest birds. Its happen for strong wind (( Sometimes birds choose not a good places for nests.

I would say its a 50/50 chance the little guy survives. At least he's still eating and drinking.

Good luck to him! =)

I'll be waiting for news about this baby.

Womp, it's bad news the poor little guy finally died of his injuries. The left side of his head had swelling from where he fell from the nest and it finally ended up dying.

Yes, that's bad.
But that's life. This is reality.

You win some lose some.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That yellow throat is gorgeous. I have never seen one.
I always have a difficult time differentiating juvenile orioles from adults unless their behavior gives them away. How do you tell the young ones?

It was just the feathers around his head are kind of patchy compared to the more solid black of the full grown ones. Also its behavior was tame compared to the rest of the orioles I see, he was only about 8 ft from the camera. I only see the yellow throats in prairie areas with shorter trees, they are very tiny.

The Oriole mom or dad usually bring the young ones to the Jelly dish the first time and show them where it's at, but after that they are on their own and it is funny to see them trying to figure out how to land on the edge of the dish. They usually come together with their siblings and bicker and try to push each other off.
I will pay more attention to their heads. I see what you mean.
img_0.11861026288566387.jpg

Oh yeah that's an even younger juvenile. My poor little sparrow ended up dying today, he took too hard a fall from the nest and had swelling on the side he fell on. Win some lose some. I have about a 50% save ratio with baby birds so far.

Oh, he was lucky that you kept him comfortable until the end. His fate could have been worse. I am so glad there are people like you who care enough to try.

So far I've managed to save a mockingbird, goldfinch, night hawk and a few sparrows. The babies are the most difficult usually if they keep eating then its a good sign they will survive but this last one had an injury on top of things so that's what ended up dooming him. The night hawk was one that was shot by kids with a pellet gun, that one was the easiest to take care of and within few days his wing was healed and he flew off well fed.

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Love the oriole shots! Glad your baby is still doing well.

Womp he actually ended up dying, I think the fall from the nest damaged him too badly.

Oh, too bad. Seemed he was doing ok...

Yeah the first day he ate fine but there was swelling on the left side of his head and his left nostril was blocked by it. It probably landed on its head when it fell out of the nest. Then the second day the swelling got worse and it stopped eating though it would let me force feed it. Maybe it was an impact injury or a secondary infection from the impact. It's usually a 50/50 chance any tiny bird that's found out of the nest will survive. Who knows how long it was laying on the ground before my boss found it.