Let our picture tell your story - Edition 5

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Welcome back!!

It's time for another edition of 'Let our picture tell your story' Can you believe that we are already into our 5 edition of the challenge? Thanks to everyone who have made this challenge interesting and meaningful.

Even though this challenge is about writing stories based on the photograph we post here, I have noticed that we have discussed culture, social and cultural challenges and difficulties that life brings with it in each of our editions so far. This has brought new meaning and a sense of purpose to our challenge.

This brings the fourth edition to a close and the winners will be declared within 24 hours of publishing this post.

This challenge is intentionally kept very simple so everyone can participate.

Your stories are not judged based on grammar, or your command of the language but on your creativity, originality and fun in the comment section.

So let's have as much fun as possible in this edition as well.

Let's get started with the fifth edition of the 'Let our picture tell your story'

Please write a story based on the image below.

sarus_eolainpariah.jpg

Image contributed by @eloianpariah

Here are some tips to get you started
What are these birds worried about? Is there a new predator in their territory? Do I see anxiety and fear in the eyes of the male sarus crane? What could it be? Is there danger to their children? Or did they just have an argument? What is troubling this elegant couple? Is he worried that someone would take his wife away from him? The possibilities are endless.

Let the image ignite your imagination. You could use any of those tips I have given there or you could write your own story. Let your creative juices flow, the story is all yours to take it in any direction you like.

The story maybe as long or short as you like, it is totally up to you.

Make it be as entertaining and as creative as possible.

Engage with the other participants. Comment on their stories and engage with the authors.
.
Rules

There are only a couple of rules you need to follow for this contest

Your story should be in the comment section of this post.

Your story needs a title.

Rewards

@melinda010100 and the community account Hive-106444 generously provide the prizes for this challenge. There is a reward pool of 8 Hives and 500 ecency points for our winners.

The first prize is 3 HIVE

Second prize 2 HIVE

Third prize is 1 HIVE

Engagement 1 Hive

Creative commenter 1 Hive

500 Ecency points will be awarded to non prize winners based on their contribution to this edition of the challenge.

50% of the post rewards go towards supporting the feathered friends community.

Kindly note that this edition will end on 8th September Wednesday.

The next edition of Let our picture tell your story will begin on Thursday 9th September.

Keep your entries coming in. Let the fun begin! Please tag your friends too.

untitled_design.png

There is more fun to be had here if you love photography check out this post by @nelinoeva. This week is different and so much more fun.

Don't forget that @barbara-orenya will also feature the best posts in her Featured feathered friends compilation and help you get more exposure. So, get your photographs in.

Keep your eyes 👀 peeled and watch out for my next post announcing the winners of the first addition.

Kindly do not leave links or unrelated comments in the comment section.

80pli5.png

Banner by @barbara-orenya Thank you

I look forward to your participation.

Sort:  

Now I can hear @dreemsteem, @sofs-su, @snook saying - It wasn't hard, was it?

Here we go, my version of a story that I called:

PIZZA OR FISH

The two siblings were standing along the road and both looking at different direction waiting for something or someone.
"Is he coming?"
"No."
"But they said, one hour to deliver the order."
"Keep on looking."
"I am starving,"
"I told you we can have fish and chips on the lake, free food, help yourself, but you said, no, I want pizza. Now be patient. I don't know why I have to listen to you. This take away sucks and they are late."
"But you too love pizza, don't you?"
"Yeah, but, I prefer fish."
"Tomorrow we will have fush, deal?"
"Deal. And chips. I bloody love chips."
"Ah, here it is, the delivery boy, don't forget to tip him. After all he wasn't late, but just in time. "

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

I LOVE IT!!

Thank you I REALLY needed a laugh right now.

Perfect story!

Glad to make you laugh 😄
I think we need pinch of fun all the time to keep us in a good mood.

That she did!!! made us laugh with this one!!

Yeah, Look at this!!! @nelinoeva I knew you had it in you .. this and a lot more ❤️❤️❤️
Sorry I missed this yesterday.. been so busy.. these weekends get utterly crazy LOL
A battle between fish and chips and pizza!!
I love that a compromise was reached.
and the delivery guys arrived on time wooot!! wooot!!
I bet you were hungry when you wrote this .. lol
Just kidding!!
Thanks for joining us.

Thank you @sofs-su for your sweet comment.
I am permanently hungry and no wonder my imagination is wrapped around food LOL.

I love your story.. so different
Then you must have a great metabolism. 😁❤️

Hahaha, funny you mentioned the metabolism. I am struggling to loose weight. Hubby was a chef and I am spoiled as he is doing all the cooking at home.

Hmm.. you are such a lucky girl. enjoy the food while you can and up the exercises to get rid of the excess. LOL

Cleo on the left was just done with Sam on the right.

Sam had taken things too far once again. They have been battling for the same birds nest and it became a intense battle. Sam had gone behind Cleo's back and did shady business. This has caused a rift between the once friends. This deal lead to a sour business relations not just between the two but the rest of the world.

Cleo felt disgraced, Sam felt entitled so the only thing left to do was to put the other one out.

"There is only one way to settle this. We will duel, ten flaps of the wings turn and honk at each other." said Sam

Cleo had no intention of listening to Sam ever again so she just kept it flying.

There is only one way to settle this. We will duel, ten flaps of the wings turn and honk at each other

This made me laugh out loud 🤣. I once had the unfortunate situation of running into a goose while I was walking on the side walk. It started coming close to me so I walked faster to get away as quickly as possible. I noticed that it was angrily flapping its wings. I am glad I managed to get out.

I had to use this gif because it brought back a lot of my encounters with geese here in Canada.

LOL this gif is so funny.. our moon chased by a goose LOL funnier still.

Hahahahha this was very clever of you sofs-su. Even the forces of nature cannot compete with the goose flap

Now I am wondering about what inspired you to pick the name sofs-su?

LOL they do have solid wings. sounds like you may have experienced a flap or two.😆
Those are parts of my name and my surname.
Sofs in short for Sophie

They will attack you. Canada geese are better than guard dogs.

I know they are vicious, my friend has told me a few times.

🤣🤣🤣 Aggressive, very much so, but the little baby ones are all cute and fuzzy.

Aren't all babies cute?

They bite @moon-city and it's bad. Canada geese are nothing to mess with. They tried to enter and office building where I worked once, through revolving doors no less.

I think I've been traumatized by some birds.

They tried to enter and office building where I worked once, through revolving doors no less.

Wow they are getting very confident Nine. Whatever shall we do? This place has become GOOSELAND

On guard against the goose? I don't want to get goosed in Gooseland, might not survive it.

might not survive it.

You and me both. We need to keep our shields up

Shields up Captain!!! 🤪😂

Wow! But yes these things can be mean. This Gif should get a prize for sure. 🤣

LOL yes.. Love that GIF 🤣

This is so Sad!! A separation, forever?
Do you think some kind of reconciliation is possible?
Welcome to this challenge @fbpowers.
I love the way each person brings in their view points and emotions to the stories
A picture can truly tell a thousand stories.
Thanks for joining in the fun.

Right now there are hurt feelings it will be some time before they can reconcile, but there is always hope to repair the relationship.

That is so true.. time heals I guess.. there is always a possibility.

hehehehehe i love that she just kept flying!!!!

why bother with a duel - at some point - you just need to fly!

oh this makes me think of a song that I want to sing for openmic this week! hahaha

I totally agree with you sometime instead of fighting its just best to keep it going. Now I want to look up your song what is it?

hehehe its not there yet - you just gave me the idea for it :)

i might do it tomorrow - should I tag you when I post it?? :)

Sure, I would like to see. :)

ok! I will tag you :)

thanks!!! hehehe

so there is one more song coming our way?? Great!! can't wait to hear it.

Aren't they a couple, look at one male and the other female

They could be? I just wrote how I saw it. Thanks for your response.

they could be friends as well right, can't a boy and a girl be friends ? I guess so. Can't wait to read your story @umirais

Doesn't it depend on the boy and the girl, and oh yes, I must be appropriate, the whole rainbow?

That depends of course. LOL don't you get there. 🤣😁😂
Good to see you back here again.

🤣🤣🤣 I have to think that way since it's considered a hate crime in Canada not to. New laws.

Good to see you too!

Lol well we don't want to commit hate crimes do we? We shall be politically right.

Well, Imma just watch this one slide until you post the picture i can use to create the type of story that i can create with the picture you post.😁👍


Posted via proofofbrain.io

hahahaha come on now....
you can make this picture into ANYTHING :)

don't let the previous stories sway you. you can make this ANYTHING YOU DREEEEEM :)

I guess, Imma finally got to put my head to work on this one.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Why helllloooo there! I'm seconding this. Make the picture anything you dream, dream it, morph it into WHATEVER you want.

I got you @nineclaws


Posted via proofofbrain.io

😁😁😁

You are just coming up with excuses from day one lol.. come on write your story. You've got so many tips to start from.

It ain't excuses, Dear. I just can't seem to be able to imagine things i can put down with the pictures i've seen so far. But relax, When I drop my my own story it's going to come in style and you are gonna feel the flow.😆


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I was just kidding.. I am waiting for that golden day 🤣

Ok, Just chill. I'm on my way. I may not reach fast but best believe I'm going to reach my destination.😉


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Waiting....

On my way.🚙 Vrooooom!!!!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

"No!!! We will go to the same destination as we always have! It's been our family home for centuries!"

"But dear, it's a parking lot now! What would we eat? And where will we sleep?"

untitled.gif

"I don't know, but we will figure something out. Maybe we can eat from the grocery carts, and get a free parking space!

!PIZZA and !ALIVE

Gif from the search function on Peakd

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah this is awesome LOL

Thanks :) I just had to add mine!!!

!PIZZA and !ALIVE

@dreemsteem! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @wrestlingdesires.

Have you voted for Pizza teams Hive witness (pizza.witness)? (8/10)

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

There you go @wrestlingdesires
A family home remains a family home LOL
so what a parking lot is space enough and grocery carts are always full of food.
Smart idea.
Thanks for joining the challenge
Wonderful to have you here!

Thanks, I was so happy to find this wonderful post :)

!PIZZA and !ALIVE

@sofs-su! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @wrestlingdesires.

Did you know you can earn $PIZZA through Hive-Engine Diesel Pools? (10/10)

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hahaha🤓 Funny ass gif.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

lol yeah, I couldn't resist!

Ok, Well done.🤲


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Duel of Heights

Skittles and Toodles were siblings who occasionally got themselves into silly arguments. Skittles was the elder sibling who was shorter than his younger brother Toodles but regarded himself highly for maintaining his composure and staying level-headed during arguments. Lately, Toodles had been trying to get under his older brother ’s skin by proudly showing off his height. This time he would kick things up a notch by challenging his older brother to a duel at the dried-up corn field.

Skittles sighed as he watched his brother proudly standing in the corn field. He had been asked to meet him out in the open for another one of his squabbles.

"Right on time brother. I have grew few inches above you and I want to challenge you to a wing flapping duel" smirked Toodles.

"Let’s get on with it. I already know the rules" Skittles said in a disinterested tone.

The two brothers turned their heads away from each other and began to count their steps. At the count of three they were supposed to turn around quickly and flap their wings to overtake one another until a clear victor stands above his victim.

Toodles took this brief moment to poke fun at his brother, "Skittles I suppose I can let you save your dignity and walk away with pride if you simply accept that I am stronger than you. Afterall, I have a proud, long beak"

Skittles remained quiet. He had a plan to irritate his brother by simply flying off at the count of three.

I won't humor my brother any longer than needed. He has no clue about my next move, Skittles thought to himself privately as he planned his departure.

Pick your fights right.
There are only some battles that are worth fighting over.
There is no need to fight every battle that comes your way,
Its better to fly away at times.
Peace is more important that a show of power.
Skittles is a smart guy. I love his attitude.
I too love to fly away when I think a battle is not worth my time.
Lovely story @moon-city.
Hmm.. I love everyone of these .. this competition is hotting up!!!

Pick your fights right.

You summed up the moral of the story nicely! Indeed it does take away a lot of time, energy and mental peace to fight for trivial matters.

Hmm.. I love everyone of these .. this competition is hotting up!!!

Glad to see participants enjoy the images every week and get inspired by them.

The thing about challenges is not running them , its finding this kind of support and love and thanks to you wonderful people .. you make my life easy.

Loading...

Congratulations @sofs-su! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!

Just another 1000 upvotes?? Here I come LOL

Go @sofs-su, go!
👯💃👯💃👯💃

Meantime, support us back and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and bigger upvotes from us when we notify you.

More badges and bigger upvotes Love them.. Lazy me.. will get to it soon.. support you, you deserve it @hivebuzz

I finally did it... Didn't take me long at all LOL
I always thought of you as the flute guy, never thought of you as the one behind @hivebuzz

How quickly four weeks passed. You are doing fantastic job with this contest @sofs-su. 😀
Good luck to all participants!

Thank you @nelinoeva, I am waiting for you to join in..hehe

Hehe, I am afraid I am not good into this. May try, not promise,some day. But hot to say, my writting skills are rather poor. 😄😉

just try! you will be amazed sometime at what you didn't even know was inside you!

first thing to do - give them names! hehehehe

then see what comes out ;)

Hahahaha this is the first challenge I always have when writing a story. What names should I pick, I wonder Then I start wondering if the names I picked match the images of the birds or not 🤣🤣

hahahahahahahahaha seee!!! you know the deal!!! LOLOL

the names are all you need.

  1. Name the bird "Cecil"
  2. Ask Cecil what his story is.
  3. Write down what Cecil tells you.

It works like a charm!! LOL

LOL I ended up using the name Cecil for a short story I wrote a while ago 🤣🤣. I really love the name. Hhahaha you have nailed my thought process. I get the names over with first and then look at the expressions of the birds and try to come up with a specific scene and then work around the story from there.

Dialogue tags are a bit rusty for me though hehehehe but this is a good weekly practice.

Follow the leader.. the master story teller.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Easy to say, but I have to think about. 😀

hehehe i believe in you 😊

Oh, I have to believe in me too. LOL

Look at the teacher getting to work right away.. yes ma'am that's the way to go. Lesson learned. Hehe.. miss those classes so much

Honestly I don't miss the classes. 😄

Nah, I don't believe you @nelinoeva, give it a try.. we are all here to support you.

With such support, it would be a shame not to try. 😉😀
But don't get excited, it will be a short story perhaps. 😀

There you go!! Way to go Neli... and I know you'd come out with the best.
Anyway this challenge is not about how big or small the story is.. I can't wait to read yours.

-YOU ARE MY HOME!💚

"Sweety, what are you doing there?" Asian Asked her husband. Nothing I just wanted to look around. Please don't worry na!" Aries replied. Asian look to the opposite side and said "Hehehe.. tell me, please? You couldn't hide it. I know you very well! Something is bothering you!."
Aries smiled while thinking his wife know him so well, even for every simple word he said. "You are happy here and staying for good in this place with me" Aries asked. "Hehehe, what kind of question is that? Nothing is best but simple living, and being comfortable together with the one you loved! Always put this in your heart and mind, you will leave and back in this place, and I will always be here to welcome you with a loving smile! Or if I leave, I will surely come back to my home, and you are my only home, owner of my heart.. even if we keep on transferring from one place to another." "Thank you, Sweety! I feel relaxed now." Aries replied. Asian went inside their house to prepare a snack while thinking that nobody will replace his thoughtful husband's place in her heart, then and now..she smiled and say a prayer of gratitude to God, for giving her a cute, loving, god-fearing, and adorable husband!

THE END..

Dearie @Sofs here is my contribution! Hehe..💕💚🌷❤

she smiled and say a prayer of gratitude to God, for giving her a cute, loving, god-fearing, and adorable husband!

You seriously made my day with this wholesome story. The sharing of love, comfort, support and joy are beautiful moments to treasure forever.

Absolutely beautiful!!

Aha! Everything which involves goodness always comes out best..sharing is always a nice gesture and creates a harmonious relationship! Thanks a lot, @moon-city Have a blessed evening!🙏😇

#Dreemer

Thank you so much! I hope you have a pleasant and restful weekend (✿◕‿◕✿)

Thank God I had a good weekend! Hope the same for you! Have a blessed evening!🌷🙏

#dreemer

this is precious :) I love how everyone comes up with their own tale here.. hehehe

its a little bit like a Rorschach test isn't it @sofs-su hehehee

The reflection of the mind in every piece even if it only imagination and fiction.
I am starting to love these stories and the messages they bring each one of them.
I just commented about that somewhere a bit earlier I guess.
Oh yeah, I think I mentioned it in this post.

Hehe all the interpretations of the picture were all the best! Hehe!❤

#dreemer

Hmm... there is nothing like gratitude. Count your blessings and get them to multiply.
The miracle of marriage.

-Yes gratitude is always important, it's a great way to express our appreciation!❤

#dreemer

Unexpressed gratitude is a burden.

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Sorry I had to undelegated because the next contest winners are coming and I'll need to delegate to some new people. I kept 300 delegated because I enjoyed your comments so much and want to see you do well at Hive. I know it's not much at all, but I'm glad to see others see what you bring and have delegated to you as well :-)

Aww.. that is so sweet of you to let me know @selfhelp4trolls
I wouldn't have guessed it right away.
I was aware that I am running on borrowed power so I was mentally and financially preparing for it.
Thank you so much for the delegation it helped me a lot.
I really appreciate your generosity and good thoughts.
Bless you with all my heart!
Thanks once again.
Annd I love reading your posts.. its like a journey back in time for me.

LOL and you don't have to apologize for undelegating.
Its yours to do as you think fit.
and I totally understand.

I just wanted you to know that I appreciate you 😛

Thank you so much that is very thoughtful of you ❤️

The rain is sure to come
I don't know how long we've lived in this meadow, I do know, from season to season we always devour grass shoots every morning. But now, grass shoots, rice seeds are very hard to find, long drought hit the fields. this grass, the river water began to dry up and only a few fish left, we started to starve.
"Sam, Sam..." I heard Tony's voice, my best friend called.
“Are you going to leave this meadow? Tony asked.
"Yes, I will look for a meadow with a river with a lot of fish," I answered confidently.
Tony pensively heard my answer, "if my eyes weren't blurry and my weak wings could fly far, it would be very nice to fly with you", Tony mumbled softly.
"What are you saying? I will not leave you, I will only look for green pastures
for us, I promise I will take you after finding him”.
"We must not give up now, we must fight together, stay here to protect our meadows, there is no way the sky will stop raining," I shouted encouragingly to Tony.
"But how long will I wait for you, waiting for the grass and rice to turn green again?" Tony asked with tears in his eyes.
We were silent, with our backs to each other, feeling the hot wind blow our feathers. I was forced to leave Tony, here there is not enough food for both of us, so I have to give in, this is for Tony, I hope he understands my sacrifice, I was actually hesitant to go and find the green meadow I promised, because the drought had dry up all the crops and rivers.
"Goodbye Tony my best friend, I promise I'll be back soon….stay strong, as long as the sun shines, the sky won't forget to lower your hopes, it will rain soon….
Tony waved with his weak wings, "good luck Sam, I will wait and fight this drought, until my last drop of sweat ..."

How sweet!
Sam is making a sacrifice so his friend who cannot fly is saved through this drought.
Friendship is such a wonderful thing.
When one person can put the other over self the relationship acquires a new meaning.
Sacrifice for one and life for the other.
Thanks for sharing this wonderful story @Umirais
Its nice to have you here with us in the last two challenges.

thanks @sofs-su

You are so welcome.

DNAgif.gif

https://peakd.com/@dna.org

Hello; @sofs-su


We appreciate your work and your post was manually shared on Twitter by @papilloncharity from the DNA team!
Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks @papilloncharity for the support.

PLEASE DO NOT TURN YOUR BACK ON ME

Why is it that you turn your back on me when I want to make a point? Ah so now I get the silent treatment. Did you not know that you shouldn't let the sun go down on your disagreements? Please can we just talk this through like the elegant adults we are.
You are behaving like the iron bird on the gate from last weeks contest - and I will not have that.

If you decide to have a truce and allow us to be friends again, you will not regret it. Let's look on the bright side and draw positive vibes and inspiration from each other. I do, so love you. Please turn around and lets move forward together.

Aww.. this guy or gal seems to be so stubborn.
Glad that he/she is reminded of the scriptures here.
The fear of God is the beginning of all wisdom right?
I hope he/she does make the truce and peace prevails.
Thanks @pandamama for your contribution and best wishes for the challenge.

Thank you