Weaving home for #featheredfriends

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

The beauty of nature lies with nature itself. Anything natural always attracts you closer and make you fall in love. My friend sent me this pic which simply amazes me. Too many nest of the weaver birds.

Screenshot_20200914185010_WhatsApp.jpg
(Weaver Nest)

The nest of the weaver bird and that too so beautifully hanging with the tree. It is a quite an attractive look and I never seen them before. There were so many, and weaver birds waiting in there.

20200916_133713.jpg
(a weaver bird)

Weaver birds use a variety of plant materials to build their nests; including strips of grass, leaves, twigs and roots. A weaver bird has a strong, conical beak, which it uses to cut blades of grass that it will use in nest-building

Getting a leaf out of these wildlife beauty, I made a step toward offering readymade home to some of the wild birds that roam around my home. Mostly the Dove and Pigeons and Maina.

20200906_060340.jpg
(a wild dove)

Not sure how many of them will accept it. At first on trial, I bought a bamboo house for these birds.

20200916_172438.jpg
(a bamboo readymade home)

The bamboo home is a long peice of bamboo with closed ends. It has two window. As I install them at one corner of the roof. After waiting for few months, I found few straws of dry grasses from the window. Means some one have accompanied inside.

Now I am qjite satisfied that I arranged home for someone. After few day, I found a cylindrical shape corrugated box (made up of paper). It was very hard, and after thinking a while I made a similar Bamboo like home out of it and placed the same next to the bamboo.

20200916_172412.jpg
(hand made cardboard box)

Hopefully, I may end up finding more of #featheredfriends around my home. Will wait and see.

img_0.033019696800781796.jpg

Peace

Namaste @steemflow

Sort:  

A different experience 😀 - You have gone an extra mile, hope it will attract them.

Trying to do something...giving a shelter is quite an easy...I found them loitering our balcony or toilet area...so hopefully they get settled in these

!ENGAGE25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I hope you will have feathered neighbours soon.

Hope so....staying close to wildlife..🙂

It looks like you have someone who likes that first one and is building a nest.

U mean the first image..

I was thinking your bamboo nest, it looked like there is a nest being built there.

Yes....few Maina started to settle in..thy made their own home with straws...

Nice they will be fun to watch

Hello @steemflow!

Very nice nests ! (including the ones you handmade ^_^)
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @barbara-orenya from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Those are great bird houses! Nicely done!

Often the size of the opening makes a difference for what kind of birds you are hoping to attract.
Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!
!tip

My intention was to make something for the little ones....if I could make the opening bigger might the crowd get hold of them...I tried ...let see if anyone find it good 😉

I have a couple different bird house around my yard, a couple of them have small holes for the tiny birds and a few with larger holes for the bigger birds. Not all birds like to live in birdhouses. It will be fun to see who moves in to your houses!

That's true...Playing the wait n watch game...

🎁 Hi @steemflow! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Photo Chain Challenge - 37Th Edition Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Thanks dear....this one is very surprising....🙂

Informative posts along with beautiful or interesting captures are something appreciated in the community 😊 I propose the post to OCD curation but they decide how much they upvote depending on their own criterias
Tip : It never hurts to work well on the quality and interest of the photos, on the text, on informations, anything that will give some more interest and extra plus to the post 😉

That's true..doing our best what we can do....quality and I formative is always beneficial...to the readers and to the authors too...tha is for knowledge sharing...and important tip