Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 15 - Wings

So, the theme for this week's contest is wings. In this picture, taken while in Florida, wings were in plenty. We took a day trip to Sanibel Island, one of our favorite places to visit while in the Sunshine State.

There were a few fishermen at the end of the Sanibel City Pier. We just so happened to get there just before they left. Before departing, they dumped the remnants of their bait over the edge, and mayhem followed.

IMG_0081.JPG

This is the pier where all of the action took place.

IMG_0075.JPG

This little guy had no luck that day. While most people were trying to catch fish he was after a bigger prize, the Brown Pelican.

IMG_0073.JPG

Knowing that sooner or later the boy would have the bird airborne, the camera was at the ready.

IMG_0074.JPG

There is so much to enjoy on the island, including strolling around the lighthouse.
Look at that, the first settlers were from New York, my home state.

IMG_0094.JPG

IMG_0084.JPG

IMG_0093.JPG

The Sanibel Lighthouse was lighted for the first time in 1884.

IMG_0091.JPG

With this area being so popular, there is an ongoing effort to keep the waters from washing away the point of the island.

IMG_0086.JPG

IMG_0088.JPG

IMG_0085.JPG

This is my entry for round 15, Show me a photo contest "WINGS".

A special thanks to @oks2crypto for spending all of the time it must take viewing all of the entries and then picking a winner.

What a great host @nelinoeva is, wouldn't you agree?
All of this wouldn't be possible if not for our very gracious sponsor @melinda010100.

Good luck to all of you that participate in this contest and support this awesome community.

Sort:  

Some great pics here! I like the one of the little boy trying to snatch the bird, that will totally be our son when we make our way down there lol.

We will definitely be spending some time at sanibel! My dad loves the place and we didn’t get the chance to go when we were in the area last year but with our future plans of owning something down in that area, it will certainly be a part of our plans!

When our boys were young, I can still see them running after every seagull that landed within a 25-yard radius.
The best part was that they really thought they had a chance of catching one.
A great reason to visit whenever you can, with your dad there and all.
Owning a piece of dirt in that area, I'm jealous. 😁

Yeah our son loves to run at any seagull that he finds lol. I saw a picture once of a kid that actually caught a seagull! I was shocked lol.

I'm hopeful that my dad will get his butt down there when we move, he needs a vacation to enjoy it lol

I hope you're not surprised the lighthouse was my favorite part. I also find myself nearly typing favorite with a U every time I type favorite. What's this place doing to me?!

That cover image is so cool, are you using it as a screen saver anywhere?

Florida, "the sunshine state," I never understood that. Growing up in California and visited Florida several times, that's false advertisement. Hashtagfakenoose.

I had more sunshine there than I do here but maybe sunshine has to do with people being happier down south than elsewhere? Possible.

Here as in Maine? Happier people in Florida?

Yeah, Boston has a lot of miserable ass people lol

Boston is special, I'll just leave it at that.

Dude thanks for clearing that up. I thought you were comparing people in Florida to Ca people and I'm 'yeah I don't really remember it being like that.'

During my 22 year career I had the pleasure workin around fellas from all over the country. Boston.... special..

Loved the lighthouse as well. Construction of the lighthouse started in 1884 and was completed the same year that August. Even if they started the very first day of the year, the project only took nine months. Back in the day, with no modern hydraulic lifts or even steel pipe scaffolding, one can only imagine how all the pieces of steel were hoisted into the air and put into position.
When I was doing a little research on the tower, I learned that the ship carrying the steel sank about 2 miles from Sanibel Island. They had Hard hat divers from the island recover all but two pieces of the giant erector set.

The tower stands 98 feet tall.

Got lucky getting that picture, never thought of using it as a screen saver. To be honest, I'd forgotten all about that pic until the wings contest.
How things going?

Going even better now that I learned all that.

Shoulda known it was your favorite part. What else was there, birds or something?

Birds and some somethings. 👀🤩

I love that first photo! You've got some great photos here!

When I was looking for wings and came across that photo, which I had forgotten we had, there was no more deciding.
I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for all you do.

Try to do a Shadow Contest post this week for the OCD Contest. There will be 5 winners and the prizes are big!

Thanks for the info, I've got something in mind already.

These birds are really gorgeous and you caught the moment nicely - the mayhem, the boy after the bird, the take off.☺

So many times, capturing unique pictures of birds is just lucky.

You are absolutely right.

Little guy trying to catch a Brown Pelican that is drop dead gorgeous, flight had to ensue so timing here is superb!

Feeding frenzy at the end of the day, what a great way for pelican's to fill their bellies before bedtime. Keep watchful eye they don't become lazy and forget how to fish for themselves.

Interesting information about the region and rehabilitation efforts along the shoreline @thebigsweed

@tipu curate

I guess it's like @farm-mom cooking for me all of the time, I forgot how to cook. Not really, how could I forgot something I really never knew.

Never too late to learn, give @farm-mom a surprise one day with a home cooked meal. 😁

That's a great idea, but take a look at the last attempt.
IMG_9323 (1).JPG
A little well done, but I still can't understand why @farm-mom refused to even take a small bite.

Now you can't blame her, look reminiscent of morning after call.... 😄

It seemed like it took forever for the youngster to gain enough courage to get close enough to the pelican before it decided to fly off.
At the moment they are giving the restoration project at the tip of Sanibel Island a gallant effort, but the way things are going, I'm not sure how much longer this pristine area will still be above sea level. 😥


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Nature will take back her own, no matter what we throw at "claiming" land, one big wave can wash it all away.

Happy Friday!
!BEER