Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 42

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

With Halloween just around the corner, even the birds here in Upstate New York seem ready for the holiday.
I caught these birds eating one berry after the next. At times the branches were bowing from the weight of all of the berries and the shear number of our Feathered Friends that were perched on the limbs of the Wild Cherry tree.
These guys look like Robins, but there were some distinct differences. The way I've got it figured, the Robins were all wearing the same costume.
Now, I'm not the guy any bird lover would call on if they wanted to know what kind of bird they had captured on film. So if these are not Robins wearing a Halloween costume, I'm all ears and ready to gladly be corrected. Please feel free to set me straight, but until then, Robins in holiday getups is the way I see it.
IMG_3906.JPG
This photo was edited on the program that came with our desktop. The filter that I used was Vanilla and the filter intensity was set at 65%. After these adjustments were made, I used the PicMonkey program to add the red heart. These guys sure do love this treat.
bird with heart.png

Do you see what I'm talking about as far as the outfit this Robin decided to wear. I just love his mask as the white on its head really accentuates its dark eyes. The attire these birds chose for Halloween disguise their true identity, or am I completely off base and these berry devouring
birds are not Robins at all?
IMG_3911.JPG

For this edited version of the picture above I used the Zeke filter which really highlighted his costume.

IMG_3911 (2).JPG

At this point, I'm starting to think that the Robins had their outfits fitted by a very good seamstress as their threads fit like a glove.

IMG_3912.JPG

The filter that I used for this photo was the Sunscreen filter.

lets eat.png

The Wild Cherry trees that adorn our property were planted around 15 years ago. At one point we almost cut them down for fear of someone being pierced by the thorns that cover every branch.
Instead of felling these needle covered trees, we decided to trim them every year until these ominous branches were above the reach of even my long arms.
I'm not sure how these guys can land among the needles without being pierced. Could it be that their outfit is steel plated?
thorny 2.png

So there you have it, Robins celebrating Halloween right along with us. I'm glad we had some treats for them or they may have had a couple of tricks for us. I have experienced one of their tricks first hand head, and I'd rather not be covered in their trick ever again.

4 pics.png

Before I leave, I'm sending out an S.O.S. are these Robins impersonating another of their kind, or not a Robin at all.

A big thanks to all of the wonderful people who make this community so much fun, @oks2crypto, @melinda010100, @barbara-orenya, and @nelinoeva.

I would like to have the 2nd picture in this post to be the one considered for contest #42, thanks.

Sort:  

I always like your entries and your sense of humor. 😀
I would not like to experience their tricks either. Good you have plenty of treats.
Great post! I love those edits and the heart in the beak is just awesome.

Good day @nelinoeva. I still can't get over the audacity of the person that literally copied and pasted my exact words. What amazes me even more is that you picked it up.
I guess that comes from reading each and every blog that is entered for the #smap contest. Many people don't do the same and sometimes you can tell that they have not read a post by their comment or a question they may pose about your blog.
Very impressive!

I'm glad you enjoyed this post and the humor that was sandwiched in.
Thanks again for being at the top of your game.

Hi @thebigsweed. 🙂
I also can't understand why this person did it. Honestly it was my first downvote to that scammer. It was really stupid what he or she did.
I read each post and yours and @farm-mom's are so joyful that the enjoyment is double.
Wishing you great weekend!

This is the very first time I have downvoted anyone, it felt a little weird.
Enjoy the remainder of your weekend as well my friend, and thanks for such a nice compliment.

@nelinoeva, you are sweet. We do enjoy #hive as a couple, it's fun and we can always count on at least one upvote.😀😁😂

Thank you @farm-mom
You are my favourite couple on the blockchain.

Lovely little bird, who seemed to enjoyed you taking the photos. Nice work, @thebigsweed.

Thanks, the Robins did seem to enjoy having their picture taken. At one point I counted 8 of them in the tree at one time with another half of a dozen perched in nearby trees waiting their turn.
IMG_3939.JPG
I see that you joined in on the fun, #hive, somewhat recently. Good luck to you.

Thanks buddy! I have been before on Steemit for years, but not so much on Hive since the start of this blockchain. I have tried to take a photo of an owl from below the tree, but couldn't get a good view of it. Have a nice weekend!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Sorry, I almost missed this one.

I don't know the birds, but I know that the Robins overseas look very different than ours here down south. But they all have one thing in common. They are great berry tree strippers.

Thank you kindly for the latest contribution big man.

!BEER

You are very welcome.
@melinda010100 mentioned that the Robins that were eating the berries, like it was their last meal, might have come from a different part of the U.S. and stopped over during migration. I believe she hit the nail on the head. For three days they ate almost nonstop, but today, with plenty of berries still left they seemed to have disappeared. I didn't see a single robin all day.

Funny that, as when the Terns migrate they eat nothing for days before they fly on their long trips.
Maybe your Robins don't migrate very far, as I have never seen one here. Strange that they would bulk up before they leave, but it makes sense, as maybe they land in many barren places before they reach their destination.
Nature is indeed wonderful in its ways.

!BEER

Definitely American Robins! They are enjoying the treats you provided. Happy Halloween.

Thanks for straightening me out. Here is a typical picture of a Robin, just one out of many that we have taken over the past several years.
The reason that I wasn't sure if the birds in this post were in fact Robins was because of the difference in the face. There is some white around this guy's eyes, and the throat of this Robin has no white. The Robins that were enjoying the wild cherries in this post has a lot of white both on their head and in the throat area.
I wonder, do their colors change somewhat at different times of the year.

IMG_8313.JPG
Have a wonderful day!

I think I have read that their colors vary depending what part of the country you are in, maybe these birds are migrating through from much further north where their coloration is slightly different then the ones we usually see in the summertime. My daughter has a robin that has appeared in her yard each spring for several years and the kids call it the pooped-on Robin, because it has white splotches all over its head and back.

That makes sense to me. I know that when I see birds from different regions, although they go by the same name, they look very different.

What beautiful photos jurg, love it. We gotta good, yes?

Things are working out pretty swell!

Now I am confused, is it Jurg, Bob or Rob?
How many names does your heartthrob have Lady Robin 😀

hahaha, yeah just what the "hubster' said. Hey, nobody's perfect.😁

Hahaha, I have already replied to to in my reply to Jurgo Hubster Lady Robin.
But have some !PIZZA and !LUV in any case.

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@farm-mom, you've been given LUV from @papilloncharity.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/5)

I've been called a few other names, but we'll let it go at that. 😁

Hahaha, well said my friend and so it will be Jurg, or as per @farm-moms reply, Jurg Hubster 🤣

!PIZZA

That's some happy robins.... Juncos have already arrived here, few weeks back, that's ominous...

It has only taken the Robins a few days to consume 75% of the berries on that tree. I would imagine that the tree will be void of berries in the next few days.
The arrival of the Juncos is ominous because it is an indication that winter is right around the corner?

Yes, and early...

I was afraid that was the reason. 😁

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@papilloncharity(5/10) tipped @farm-mom (x1)
papilloncharity tipped thebigsweed (x1)

Join us in Discord!


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.