Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 8. BIRD IN THE SKY

When I saw the category, BIRD IN THE SKY, the first thing I thought of was, this is a something I've tried to capture many times, but I've had very little luck doing so. I've got some pictures, and have used them in the past, but capturing some new pics was my mission.

Well, as luck would have it, a large flock of these Boat-Tailed Grackles just happened to hang out with me for a good part of the day.
IMG_7252.JPG

The Boat Tailed Crackle can found throughout Florida, often in large, noisy flocks. As I sat in my chair enjoying another perfect day of Florida sunshine, this flock of Crackles provided me with all of the pics I would need for Round 8 for the Feathered Friends contest.

IMG_7242.JPG

This tree seemed to be the place to land.

IMG_7258.JPG

As one bird would land, one would fly off. At times there were
at least a dozen of these birds perched in this tree.
IMG_7264.JPG

With there wings spread, you could almost see the sunlight shine through their feathers.

IMG_7280.JPG

As they landed, they would almost come to a complete stop as they readied themselves for the landing.

IMG_7282.JPG

I hope that by the time this guy gets back to his truck, he will still be able to see out of his front windshield.

IMG_7289.JPG

Wondering what it was that was attracting so many of these birds, I decided to take a look in the back of the truck.

IMG_7290.JPG

There was the answer. This dude was a fisherman, and scattered around the bed of his pickup truck were the remnants of bait fish.
The smell alone would have been enough to get these birds attention.

IMG_7292.JPG
This guys windshield may be covered in bird droppings, but at least the bed of his truck will be as clean as a whistle.

I guess it is human nature to google over the uncommon and ignore what is commonplace, but on this day I was all about the very common Boat-Tailed Crackle.

Have a wonderful day and keep looking up, as our #feathered #friends grace the skies, most times in silence.

Sort:  

Free meal why not, hope he doesn't have to fight his way to the car either. Never seen Boat-tailed Grackles, interesting and learning something different from your region.

@tipu curate

This is the first I've heard about liquid rewards, I took a look at the link and it's something I will investigate further.
Thanks for the info.

That is one on the best things about traveling, you get to experience so many new things.
Thanks for stopping in.

Good through the lens at the moment, otherwise so limited. Have an amazing day!

I don't know if I should laugh or attempt to make this serious but it looks like a really rough winter. In between the fish biting you're lying in wait (wait! Not weight, "wait") to capture a Bird In The Sky. Rough day dude.

The sacrifices one has to make just to take a picture of a bird in flight is exhausting. I'm supposed to be relaxing, but the birds were calling my name.

I know it's tough... LOL

Congratulations @thebigsweed! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts.
Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Ha, these birds know better where to find free food. ☺
Thank you for your joyful post.

Love this post. Those birds were something to watch especially with my guy

Hello @thebigsweed!

Nice shots !
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @barbara-orenya from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

They look like they're bigger than a bluejay, almost as big as a small crow...

We have both Pied Crows and Cape Black Crows here, nut they are bigger than your Boat Tailed Crackles. Yet there is a smaller crow here called the House Crow (Corvus splendens) that looks very similar to your Cackles.

I think that the fisherman will discover that he needs to put a sail on the back of the truck 🤣
Luckily you guys have no monkeys because they will walk off with the truck mirrors and wipers 🤣

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Gosh, the sky couldn't be any bluer than that, what glorious weather and photos! I've never seen those birds but they have quite an apt name, sure they must hang around the fishing boats as well;) Enjoy Florida!