The chimney has been fixed, more food/wood gift from the postwoman, and a very worrying update about the current condition of my bird (2023.01.25)

in Feathered Friendslast year (edited)

Yesterday (on 2023.01.24) the postwoman's husband fixed the chimney. Now there are no holes in the chimney. Now the fire is easy to start in the heater.

The material he used to fix the chimney.

Of course this is only a temporary solution. The condition of the house is becoming worse and worse. We (my brother and me) try to do everything to find a rent, and other people are also helping in this.

Today (on 2023.01.25) we received more food gift and wood gift from the postwoman. Many foods. Including baked goods and fruits (for example apples, bananas, grapefruit, and a jar of jam). And a warm food (beef, noodles and peas) too for lunch. We already ate the latter.

The postwoman gave us one sacks of wood again. Our room is currently warm.

Today the weather was cloudy, and the temperature was around 2-3 °C. Today I have not walked much outside.

I still do not know when we will take my Harris's hawk to the vet. The postwoman and her husband are helping us a lot, but they are very busy too.

Soon we need to take my bird to the vet. Multiple of her feathers fallen out in the recent past. And she constantly look tired, sad, and broken. She often close her eyes.

A few of my friends are suspecting that something (probably a rat) is attacked my bird, when we were not home. The vet probably will tell what happened with my bird, and what is wrong with my bird. Hopefully nothing serious, but it looks serious.

Her feathers are partially missing on her head, on her neck, and on her chest/crop. Actually currently I am very worried about her. She look very bad. I do not even want to take a photo about her from the front in this condition (basically she is partially featherless).

I took these photos yesterday (on 2023.01.24).

This is it for today.

If we will have news, then I will write about it.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Sort:  

I am so sorry your hawk is not well. I know how much you love her. Hugs from me.

Thank you. I wrote to a distant vet on Facebook about the current condition of my bird. He have not seen my message so far. Hopefully soon we will be able to arrange a vet check. I am very worried about my bird.

I hope everything will end well for you and the bird.

she really looks not well at the moment...😯
I suppose the vet will cost a lot ?

I currently do not know the cost. This depends on multiple things. For example the vet, the examination(s), the diagnosis (what is wrong, how serious it is), the treatments.

It looks even more serious on/around her crop. Especially when there is food in it. Her feathers are almost entirely missing on it. I really do not want to take photos about this. Maybe I will do. Currently I am almost crying.

So her current condition looks very bad. I am nearly crying right now. I really hope that this is not so serious as it looks.

I will take her to the vet as soon as possible.

It's great that your friend managed to repair the chimney, now it should be easier to keep warm :)

Somewhat it is, but the holes in the wall became bigger in the recent few days, after the rain. We try to stay warm and stay calm. But actually we worry both about the house and about my bird too.

I talked to @guiltyparties on Discord, and he is very generous and very helpful/supportive. A few minutes ago he transferred $100 HBD to me to cover the gasoline/diesel costs of the car transfer to the vet, which the postwoman offered to us.

GuiltyParties looked up an article about feather problems in birds, and we found that the problem of my bird is probably either a disease or an infection. I checked my bird, and there is no wound on her, so probably it was not a rat attack, but maybe something from the rat.

Thank you so much again to GuiltyParties for the $100 HBD. I am very grateful and very happy for this help/support.

If there will be any news, then I will write about it.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Hope your hawk will get well soon 😔

I also hope this. I very much hope this. Very sad to see her like this. At least she still have a good appetite, but she look tired and sad. Probably something (probably a rat) attacked her, while we were not home. But currently this is just/only a guess/tip. We currently do not know what happened to her. She is still tame, and she is still jump/fly to my arm, and sit on my arm, so whatever happened, a human did not hurt/damaged her. This is 100% certain. Otherwise she would fear every human (even me).

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more