You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4k pen display for drawing! Huion Kamvas Pro 24 (4k)

in Geek Zonelast year (edited)

Yeah, they are crazy expensive! To add insult to injury, when she bought her newest one (can't remember the size, it was last year) it was the first batch of that particular model. It has a built in magnet to hold the little fancy remote control box with all the quick buttons.

The problem is, the magnet is super weak, and the remote just slides off like nothing. Also the fan revs up annoyingly loud. About a few months later, they released a new revision with all the problems fixed. My buddy @steve.varner got one and his is great. Should be a recall for a $4k+ device imo.

Good to know about the silicon mac issue. I just bought myself a Mac Studio M1 Max and was thinking about getting a drawing tablet of some kind.

BTW, mac can be super quirky with cables. Might be worth trying a different cable. Maybe even a Thuderbolt (usb 4) cable if you can find a reasonably priced one.

Sort:  

Aahhh that sucks!! That sounds like the Cintiq pro 24, and I read a lot of reviews about the fan lol I wonder how loud it is? And wow the $4k one, must have insane quality especially it’s 120hz (if that’s the cintiq 27).

Yeah I’m not quite expert about this but that’s just one of the comments I read on huion subreddit. I didn’t find any negative comments on Youtube about Mac+ Huion tho and most reviews they were using Macs and they were alright. It might be the use of cables you were saying. I’m a first time Mac user and still need time to learn haha.

I have a thunderbolt 4 ports on my Macbook and the Huion cable USB-C is a full-featured usb3.1 gen1. 🤔 According to my research the ports on my Macbook should have no problems with this. Might just get another brand of cable just to see what it’s like.

If you can afford the Wacom maybe it’s better for you to get that. It’s a brand that has proven itself haha and Huion’s customer support is not that great. So maybe you can save some headaches but also maybe you’ll have a smooth experience with it who knows :D

Yeah, sounds good. I'm not a pro though so it's no big deal to me. I might grab her old cintiq when we go visit her dad in England. We brought it over there when we stayed for a year and left it since she bought a new one.

You are right, I just checked, it is the Cintiq Pro 24 that she has. I must have exaggerated the price in that case. But I do remember she paid a lot of money for it. Especially because we bought the fancy swivel arm with it. It had to be $3k+ at least. Can't remember. Actually, we originally bought it with this insanely heavy base that cost a fortune, but it sucked so we ended up selling it to this cool chic we met on FB marketplace. It was perfect for her desk as she is a full time animator up in the Hollywood area and doesn't need to move it around.

Yeah, give another cable a try and see how it goes! It's amazing how much of a difference it can make sometimes. I had the same issue with a monitor on my m1 mac mini that that I'm using right now. It was blinking off and on constantly. I changed the cable, and fixed it right up.

The thing that got me discouraged with Wacom too is their arms and stands are so expensive😭 I found an Amazon arm that I paid for $65 for a sale that time and it’s really good and sturdy.

I will find a cable that’s not Huion to try it out. Thank you for your suggestion! :D