Energizer - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United4 years ago

img_0.6977569297941557.jpg

Good morning Hiveworld and welcome to the weekend. I hope life is good any you are all well. Busy week at work again this week and ready for quality time with the family and maybe a bit of time left over for some lightpainting.
We shall see ;)

Here is one from last weekend I shot with Phill, Paul and Darren at Headstone Tunnel in the Peak District UK. I love this tunnel, as at one end there is a metal cage bolted on to prevent people getting banged on the head by falling rocks and debris from the steep sided walls at the entrance. A perfect focal point for this type of shot.


I asked if Darren and Phill would model for me as I think having two human forms helped balance out the picture. They stood one each side and I worked on the lighting. I wanted to illuminate them and the scene in a manner which would trick the eye into thinking the light was coming from the light form in the middle...more on that element later.

I used the Lace backlight scanner with my BLF Q8 torch to light everything up. I walked quite slowly towards the camera from deep in the tunnel, lighting as I went before I stopped for a few seconds once I was parallel with the models. I did this so the intensity of light was higher here as if it radiated from the middle light form.


On tripod 2 I had my refractography set up. 1 x piece of glass clamped in front of the camera with a torch beyond that covered by a piece of card with a pin prick in the middle. These are created with no lens on the camera and the shapes can be varied and diverse to say the least. Thanks to Phill for helping with the torch.

Part two on this tripod involved putting a lens on the camera and illuminating the inside of my sons coat which I had taken with me. It has a really cool lattice pattern in the middle which I illuminated with a blue torch.

Once happy with all of the elements it was time to put everything into one exposure.


Whilst quite long winded and technical once you know each of the elements it makes putting it all together relatively simple.


Big shout out to ectro for the inspiration for this one. His refractography work in the field is sublime.


I hope you enjoyed this post and if it raises any questions please fire them my way. I'd be happy to help :)


Happy days.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  

Thank U for being an active user of the Lightpainters United Community.

100% Upvote to let it shine on Hive.

Love, Light & Unity!

!tip

 4 years ago  

Cheers for the love folks and keep on spreading the light :)

🎁 Hi @fadetoblack! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @lightpaintershub!

Check out @lightpaintershub blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.