Favourite Shots 2021 - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United2 years ago

img_0.39916255319264204.jpg


Good evening Hiveworld and I hope this post finds you well. I'm very well and gearing up for a return to work on Tuesday....not cool! I had a great festive period with friends and family so I don't feel so hard done by.

Usually at this time of year I have 365 shots to chose from for a post such as this as I have completed a fair few photo a day projects. As 2021 comes to a close I've been very quiet with the camera and have probably been suffering photographic burnout. I have however been out a few times and captured some images I'm super proud of so here is my short but sweet year in review for 2021....


Title image

I found myself in a beautiful part of the world I hadn't explored before. Phill F was in town and with the afternoon off work I made the 1hr40 journey to Malham. This place had been on the to do list for ages and once again I can't believe I haven't shot this before.
I had this shot planned out well in advance and I knew I would need a tool to light the fissure. I was after a lava type of effect so I took an old tripod leg 2 x www.lightpaintingbrushes.com universal connectors, their orange filter attachment and a torch. I attached it all together and the telescopic tripod leg made lighting up the crack a breeze. We started shooting the night stuff at the tail end of blue hour. This made the process slightly less sketchy as I could still see where I was walking. Firstly I went behind the tree with my BLF Q8 torch and back lit the tree. Phill kindly capped the lens whilst I set up the orange element. Once happy he removed the lens cap and I concentrated the orange light down the fissure all the way back to the camera. Next I made my way off camera left and side lit the limestone pavement with the Q8.


img_0.4816904698264944.jpg

Singing Ringing Tree

Good Friday was true to its name as it was the first time I've been out Lightpainting for what seems like an age.

Phill F was up North and asked if I'd like to accompany him on a nocturnal meet up at the singing ringing tree, up in the hills overlooking Burnley. This place has been on my radar for ages and I feel bad for not diving the 40 minutes to shoot it sooner.

Phill took up position and held still whilst I side lit the tree. Next I went behind him for a swift waft of the net curtains lit using the www.lightpaintingbrushes.com universal adaptor and orange gel brining the fire.

We got lucky with the wind direction blowing the clouds as if some kind of energy was exploding from his head.


img_0.11001662496375894.jpg

Giants Hole

I had a very pleasant afternoon with Ben L and his girlfriend Becky down a Giant Hole for a bit of daytime lp. We parked up and paid our £3 to the gatekeeper (farmer) and made our way to the entrance of the underground system.
This place was fantastic and following the path of the river as it found it's way through chambers of varying sizes was magical.
Especially here where a waterfall had appeared in the middle of a wall. You don't see that every day.

Here Becky stood rock solid in the freezing water whilst Ben kindly back lit her for 10 seconds. Becky held the pose for a further 5 seconds to expose the waterfall in front of her.
It was a pleasure to meet them both and I'm already planning my next visit. I spotted numerous crazy rock formations which need lighting up and another chamber which was almost Cathedral like in stature and form.


img_0.35577431824629113.jpg

The Light

When my alarm went off at 4.20 this particular morning I didn't fancy it much. I needed the loo and the combination of blinding bathroom light and cold floor tiles woke me enough to get dressed and heading out of the door.
I arrived in good time and made my way up the Pass from the top end. The Met offices empty promise of a cloud inversion irked me once again but I continued to my favourite viewpoint unperturbed.
Sunrise came and went without any drama and once all of the other photographers had moved on I thought about joining them. "I'll give it 10 more minutes" I said to the Lambs corpse I had for company and on the 9th minute God rained down light upon it.
Quite a macabre piece of foreground interest but a reminder of the brutal reality of living in such a harsh and wild environment.
I stuck around some more but this was the best of the bunch and after half an hour I packed up, said my goodbyes and made my way back to the car.
About two minutes later I turned to see it all going off again and bagged a couple more from a new pov but they will have to wait for another day.
5 shot hdr put together in Lightroom.


img_0.29287549327281387.jpg

Padley by Moonlight

Two weeks ago was the first time in a long time I headed out into the darkness. The hour drive up to Padley Gorge was made more exciting due to the large enveloping of fog. I could barely see 10m in front of the car so extreme concentration was exercised. Once there it was like being in another world. So calm and peaceful and great to catch up with my old mate Chris T.
Once we had bagged a few shots from our favourite pov in amongst the gnarled Sessile Oak trees we reversed to our favourite bridge.

I took many iterations but this is the one I settled on.

The Fog had been steadily receding and the beautiful full moon started to appear. 30 seconds of the softest moonlight was all it took to reveal the beauty which was in front of me.

Great night in superb company back out doing what we love.


I hope you enjoyed my set of 2021 and fingers crossed 2022 will revert to previous years and I'll have a bag full of images to share with you all this time next year.

Stay well and I wish you all a happy and healthy New Year.

Take it easy and Happy Days


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @lichtkunstfoto @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Cool stuff pal, need more bangers needed in 2022! That first one should be on a wall!

 2 years ago  

Fingers crossed it will be soon pal. I'm rather partial to that one too :). Cheers dude and fingers crossed for more bangers for the both of us this year 👊👊

Stunning and impressive set mate.

 2 years ago  

Cheers buddy. Fingers crossed I get my lazy arse off the couch and create a few more this year :)

Can't wait to see more of your great stuff.