New Leaf - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United4 years ago

img_0.6549063862780877.jpg

Good morning folks. Today is a beautiful day again here in Manchester and I hope the same goes for where ever you are on the planet.


Here is my 366 project shot from yesterday, created entirely from the comfort of my kitchen.


I first started with finding an image from my archives of a silhouette of me. This would be exposed from my phone screen and would fall in the middle of the frame. I used a macro extension tube to fill the frame with this element.

Next I collected a leaf from a wild strawberry which grows in my back garden and clamped it in front of a second tripod. Behind the leaf I clamped a small torch to a light stand to back light the leaf.

I mounted my camera on my camera rotation tool and I set about working through the camera rotation process.

Here I rotated the camera in 9 equal increments replacing the lens cap between each exposure. Next I pan the camera on the CRT to the left and repeat the process and then to the right and do the same. This gives a central rotation and two off-kilter rotations each side.


I love rotating leaves as it unlocks a really intricate wreath effect which blows me away every time I do them. Here are a few leaf rotations I have done over the years.


img_0.3464883897168659.jpg

A Japanese Maple leaf rotated with a hint of vape in the air for a beautiful autumnal sunrise type of haze.


img_0.5336882106067804.jpg


img_0.45694042815710323.jpg

This one is from back in 2015 and I think my 1st triple axis camera rotation. I kind of forgot about the technique until last year and I'm amazed I didn't think at the time to add more elements to it.


img_0.6840764900387999.jpg

This is another Japanese Maple leaf rotated 27 times with an axis pan for each 9 rotations.

All images above shot during a single long exposure in complete darkness.


I'm really looking forward to Autumn this year so I can add to this set if images.

I hope you enjoyed looking and if you have any questions about any of these images then please ask away :)

Happy days.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  

Wow, beautiful piece of perfect lightpainting.

 4 years ago  

Cheers buddy. I do enjoy doing these.

Hi @fadetoblack,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am