Pilgrimage - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United3 years ago

img_0.6782392353798117.jpg

Good evening folks and I hope all is well and that life is good. Another helping of Lightpainting for you with a breakdown on how it was created.

Good Friday was good to its word as it was the first night out lightpainting since the end of last year.....Way too long.

My friend Phill F messaged me to say he was in the area for the evening and if I'd like to head out to the Singing Ringing Tree. Now that lockdown measures have been slightly relaxed we could get together without Boris breaking out into tears.


We arrived for sunset which was a bit of a non event and settled in waiting for the darkness to descend. Once the stars came out we got cracking.

I asked Phill to take up position in front of the tree and hold still. I walked out of the left hand side of the frame and side lit the tree and Phill. Next I attached an orange gel from www.lightpaintingbrushes.com to the torch and shone it at my net curtain as I frantically waved it about behind him. All of this took about a minute and a half, which gave just enough time for the camera to capture the movement of the clouds above.

Those clouds are my favourite part of the shot as I think they look like they are exploding from Phill's head.

I took many other shots from this evening. Some of which I will post up here over the coming weeks.


All shot during a single long exposure with edits to the raw file in Lightroom.

Sony A7ii
Nikon 20mm f1.8 G
Manfrotto Tripod
Ryus edition wonder torch
Lp brushes universal connector and orange gel attachment
Net curtain
102 seconds
iso200
F3.5
Underwater white balance


I hope you enjoyed looking and as always drop me a line with any questions you may have.

Happy days.

For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  

F-ing Epic - as always! Greetings from Berlin - Happy Easter!

 3 years ago  

Cheers mate. It's such an awesome spot and perfect for such nocturnal activities.

No worries as the COVID clusterfuck is over we are planning again a visit from Berlin.

 3 years ago  

I really hope it goes ahead buddy :)

 3 years ago  

Huuuuum, the clouds 🤤
Sculpture looks interesting for a CRT work ;)

You made a good job fellaz 😎👏
Happy Easter from Britanny 😁🤢🤣

 3 years ago  

Cheers big buddy. A rotation shot will be with you over the coming days :) I hope Britanny is warmer than the North of England :)

 3 years ago  

I'm looking forward to see that :)

T° was 24°C at noon last tuesday but the forecast says it will snow in 2 or 3 days^^ Climate change is a really serious shit.

 3 years ago  

I know mate. Things need to change.

 3 years ago  

Netcurtaintastic!

 3 years ago  

Haha. Netcurtainocalypse 😂😂

 3 years ago  

Upsettingthewifebecauseyou'venickedhernetsaggedon....I'll stop now lol

 3 years ago  

😂😂