Spinny Flippy Sparky

in Lightpainters United4 years ago

One thing I have learnt as a light painter, there is a bit of a pyromaniac inside me!
I absolutely love spinning wire wool and sending sparks everywhere! And sometimes you can get creative with it too.

However that said my first image used a firework rather than wire wool!
The setup was myself in a tunnel with my back to the camera, and I was backlit with a flash and a blue gel to light the tunnel. I had a drill which had a piece of wood bolted to it and a firework attached at the end. I lit the firework, closed my eyes very tight, made sure my hood covered as much of my face as possible and started the drill at arms length. As this was spinning and after the tunnel had been exposed, the camera was then rotated to get the effect below..

Spinny Flippy Shennanigans..
Spinny Flippy schizzle.jpg

My second and third images are taken at the same location, the first was a straight shot of my silhouette with wire wool burning on a spinning drill behind me, but the third shot was more involved.
I stood on the bridge, backlit to pickup my silhouette, and then the lens was capped and the wire wool on a drill was lit and spun from behind the camera at an angle so the sparks fell over the front of the camera and the camera rotated to get the halo of sparks effect you see below. So all three shots on this post are taken in camera, and no photoshop has been used to create this effect..

Pyromania..
LP2.jpg

LP3.jpg

Equipment Used - Nikon D600 Camera, 16-85mm lens, camera rotation device, wire wool, drill and a lighter

If you do like any of my shots I can also be found on Instagram under the username neilru75

Thanks very much for looking as always
Neil