Photonic Cocoon

in Lightpainters United4 years ago (edited)

In April 2014 I was still very much into making symmetrical round figures with my dual RGB synchronized tool. The middle patterns were made with two white flashlights with dichroic filters attached which made them appear red when facing the camera and blue when at an angle. This was taken in one of my favorite spots in Park Clingendael, The Hague.

IMG_2776.jpg

And here's an outtake that I didn't like as much.

IMG_277401.jpeg


I'm also on Instagram - Facebook - Flickr - Vimeo - Twitter


For more examples of innovative and original light painting please give my light painting comrades a follow: @fadetoblack @dawnoner @mafufuma @fastchrisuk @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau and check out our Hive Community Lightpainters United

Sort:  

Great picture my friend...i don't know what you used for this but it really looks cool...

Have a great day...

 4 years ago  

Thank you. Sorry, I should try to explain the tools more consisely. The green light trails are made by two RGB 3W LEDs on two poles that I move with my arms at the same time. They have a couple of stacked plastic champagne glasses on top to reflect and refract the light. Those LEDs are attached to same controller with a wire at the end of each pole. That's why I say synchronized. They operate at exactly the same frequency which is visible when I do fast movements and the colors change. In this case I only used green and the movements were small and precise for the curls on the edges and at the right speed to create maximum symmetry without overexposing by doing it too slowly.

In the middle I used regular flashlights but with a special filter made of dichroic glass that changes color depending on which angle you view it.

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

 4 years ago  

Thanks 🙂