Slit-Scan Rotations on a 360 Camera

in Lightpainters United4 years ago

As I mentioned in a previous post I was keen on doing a session of Ricoh Theta V rotations exclusively with daylight leaking in my studio. I had done this before but with the Canon 6D and a totally different setup and results.

The light from outside is coming in through a perfect slit where the black roller shades meet de edges of the window frame. I can reveal or obscure the light coming from outside depending on how I move the camera. That's why the slit-scans appear to fade in and out creating interesting depth. I essentially draw with the camera on a pole using daylight alone. The pole is rotating at one rotation per 20 seconds while I move it arround in any pattern I want. On the more random ones at the end I did all movements without the aid of the rotator and they only took 10 seconds.

Unfortunately it's still grey and wet outside so no blue blue skies like I would have preferred. One of these days I'll do it at sunset for some nicer colors.

IMG_20200708_071431.jpg

IMG_20200708_070713.jpg

IMG_20200708_065227.jpg

IMG_20200708_064537.jpg

IMG_20200708_071752.jpg

IMG_20200708_065512.jpg

IMG_20200708_065353.jpg

IMG_20200708_071236.jpg


I'm also on Instagram - Facebook - Flickr - Vimeo - Twitter


For more examples of innovative and original light painting please give my light painting comrades a follow: @fadetoblack @dawnoner @mafufuma @fastchrisuk @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau and check out our Hive Community Lightpainters United

Sort:  

Wow, so beautiful! The third one is my favorite :)

!discovery 35

 4 years ago  

Thank you! It was very difficult for me to choose a cover photo. They're all my babies. 🙂

I understand you, especially because they are all beautiful ahah!

 4 years ago  

Sometimes I find myself thinking more in terms of what will the audience find beautiful at a first glance and in thumbnail format so that they get curious enough to see the rest. Always very indecisive about which cover photo to use as it can make or break the interest in a post, even if it has a variety of other equally good choices. Glad you scrolled through and find them beautiful too 😊


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

Congratulations @oddballgraphics! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!