Under The Stars

in Lightpainters United3 years ago


Light painting under the Milky Way...

I captured this image last year on a lonely road near Coraki, NSW.
I've been light painting for about 4 years now and when I venture out to a location, I usually try some of my go-to (and well-practiced) shapes to get the tool brightness and camera settings right. Spirals I find quite easy (but a bit dizzying) to create and I love how they look in the final image, particularly the lines they draw on the road and I find them well suited when combined with the Milky Way (given it's galactic spiral arms containing 100 billion stars).

This image was captured in a single exposure. I can't remember the exact tool that I used for the spiral but it was definitely some sort of acrylic tube with a plastic tip taped on the end. Torch used was a Nitecore P26.

Camera settings:
10mm, f/4.5
ISO-3200, 30secs

instagram.com/rod.evans.visual

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

This kind of stuff makes me happy

Excellent work, I love milky way shots, and I like this as it has a twist to it (excuse the pun lol).