Cambridge coffee shop employees unionize, cause the cessation of business

in News & Viewslast year

remarks_on_the_marg_20211210.png

Employees of a Cambridge, Massachusetts based coffee shop chain named Darwin's had formed a trade union. The union was seeking a number of benefits for the employees including compensation at the rate of 24 USD per hour. For your reference, the median income for a full-time worked in the US is 56,287 USD per year, of about 27 USD per hour. Typically, people making coffee and sandwiches make less - I'd say, a rate of about 15 USD per hour would be more typical for this kind of work in he Boston area.

As a result the Darwin's management decided to shut down the business. Because while a union may force a business to force a certain pay rate, they can't force the business to exist in the first place. Don't get me wrong - I am all for negotiating and fighting for better employment conditions, either individually or within a group. But everything needs to be done within reason.

References

Cambridge-based Darwin's coffee, sandwich shops closing after nearly 30 years
Peter Eliopoulos, WCVB NewsCenter 5, 14 November 2022

Personal income in the United States (wiki)

Sort:  

Everyone has their own truth

I'd say there is only one truth. We may not be able to understand it but I still think we all live in the same reality.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 134 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

 last year  Reveal Comment