Beautiful Sundays are Made of Cake


20210602_192208.jpg


I do believe we are back to cake again. This one, I just couldn't resist. I have been making practice cakes, but, almost never eat it. However, the people I love best in the whole wide world? They cherish every piece of the traditionally made almond praline, surrounded by insanely rich Diplomat cream and as a final sin against diets, the world over, lay between several layers of almond cake.

Who loves ya, baby?


20210601_170324.jpg


Preperation Time: 2 hours
Baking Time: 35 minutes
Chilling time: 4 hours
Total Time 6 hours 35 minutes
Servings:12
Calories: 727 kcal


Ingredients!

Honey Almond Cake:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup almond flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup honey
3 large eggs room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp almond extract
1 cup milk room temperature

Honey Almond Syrup:
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup water
2 drops almond extract

Diplomat Cream:
1 cup milk divided
1/4 tsp vanilla bean paste
2 Tbsp cornstarch
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg yolk
3/4 cups heavy cream cold
1 Tbsp powdered sugar sifted
2 tsp skim milk powder

Almond Praline:
2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup water
1 1/2 cup sliced almonds toasted
1 Tbsp unsalted butter

Assembly:
1 cup sliced almonds toasted


20210601_164330.jpg


Les Instructions

Just for today, we will be a little French. Qui?
First things first!
Preheat the oven to 350F
Grease/flour two 8 inch cake rounds, then line with parchment paper
In a medium bowl, whisk flour, almond flour, baking powder,and salt together until combined. Set aside.
I use a stand mixer with paddle attachment and cream butter and sugar on medium high for about 3 minutes. Should be light color and fluffy.
Reduce speed and add eggs, seperately and mix fully after each one.
Add vanilla, honey, and almond extract and mix until combined.
Alternate flour mixture and milk, beginning and ending with flour (3 additions of flour and 2 of milk). Mix fully with each addition
Bake 30 minutes - insert toothpick in center, mostly clean is done
Cool on wire rack 10 minutes then take out of pan, allowing to cool completely


20210601_170324.jpg


The recipe as-is will also work in two 8 inch pans. For three 8 inch pans, make 1 1/2 of the original recipe. Baking time may need to be adjusted.
To make cupcakes, all you need to do is reduce the baking time — start checking at 15 minutes or so. The recipe makes 18-24 cupcakes depending on size.


20210601_170839.jpg


Honey Almond Syrup:

Place honey, almond extract, and water into a small pot. Stir, bringing to a simmer. Cool completely.


20210601_172223.jpg


Below is how to make pastry cream. It’s basically a cooked custard/pudding that is made up of eggs, milk, sugar, and cornstarch. it is a little boring its pure form, but once some whipped cream is folded in, it is heaven on earth. Oh, yes!


20210601_172134.jpg


Pastry Cream:

3/4 cup milk and vanilla bean paste in medium saucepan. Cook on high heat, stirring often until simmering. Remove from heat.
In a medium bowl, whisk 1/4 cup milk, egg yolks, sugar, and cornstarch.
Wisk vigorously, slowly pouring the hot milk into the egg mixture.
Return mixture to saucepan and cook over high heat, whisking constantly, until it thickens and comes to a boil.
Pass through a strainer and into a bowl. Place plastic wrap directly on top of custard to prevent a skin from forming.
Cool to room temperature, place in refrigerator for two hours to set.


20210602_173921.jpg


Diplomat Cream:

Whip cream until soft peaks (use a cold bowl with a cold whisk). Add powdered sugar and skim milk powder and whip until stiff peaks.
Remove plastic wrap from top of pastry cream. Whip by hand with a whisk until smooth.
Fold 1/2 cup whipped cream into the pastry cream until smooth. Fold in the rest of the whipped cream until smooth.
Chill for 30-60 minutes in the fridge.


20210602_174320.jpg


Almond Praline:

Line a sheet pan with parchment, set aside.
Place sugar and water into a medium saucepan over high heat.
Stir to combine and until sugar dissolves. Do not stir from this point forward.
Use a pastry brush to wash down the inside of the pot occasionally to prevent sugar from crystalizing.
Cook sugar, swirling pot occasionally until desired color of caramel is reached (10-15 minutes).
Remove from heat and add the butter and almonds. Stir to combine and immediately pour onto baking sheet and spread evenly as best as possible. Cool completely (about 30mins).
Once the praline has cooled and set use a kitchen mallet or similar to break sugar into shards. (I dropped mine on my granite counter. Worked like a charm)


20210602_172557.jpg


Assembly:

Carve a circle 1/2" deep in each cake layer to hold in the filling. I used a 6" cake round as a template, placed that on top, and cut around it. You can do a white chocolate ganache dam around the edge to hold in the filling. Generously brush cake layers with honey almond syrup.
Place one cake layer on a serving piece.. Sprinkle with 1/2 cup of toasted sliced almonds.
Fill the center with Diplomat cream so that it domes.
Sprinkle more toasted almonds over top. Invert the second layer and place it carved side down on top of the dome.
(it's ok if some diplomat cream squeezes out).
Frost and smooth the outside of the cake in a rustic manner with remaining diplomat cream. Chill for 30 minutes.
Place almond praline shards around the outside of the cake.
Diplomat cream will not keep very long. Store cake in the fridge and ideally serve same day


20210602_175415.jpgsource


This cake is truly delicious, but, it has a lot of steps and can be a challenge the first time making it. But your people will love it and tell you how it is worthy. I will admit, I have made it prettier, but, you will just have to use your imagination on how good this tastes.


20210602_175419.jpg


I think I will make three layers next time I make it. It is good with two, but, I am in love with smaller layers and lots of them. Like a wedding cake, but, not. I will admit to tears on the first try, I didn't get the bowl and wisk cold enough. Little tiny things that can flop the whole cake. But, eventually, it happened.


20210602_192248.jpg


It was essential to scoop out a well so the cream had somewhere to go. Two wells in the middle and then put the top on it and squeeze it shut. Aesthetically, it is not the prettiest, however, it might be the richest, most delicious cake.

center_crest.png

#SublimeSunday brought to your doorstep by our very own @c0ff33a Where any random thing you post is cool! I love my @c0ff33a and he loves eclectic... A match made in Heaven 💙


The Hive party goes on, a happy place for all... Making this quite the #BeautifulSunday brought to you by @ace108. Because today is Sunday and it has been pretty amazing watching the price of Hive go up again. Two Sundays in a row. There isn't a better way to start my day.


20210602_192259.jpg


With summer fading fast, I feel honored to have a full garden of color and beauty. A flower, to color our world. #alwaysaflower


fern_flowers.jpg


As promised, I give you one Christmas picture, to spread the joy of that season, hoping to give Autumn permission to join in. Peace on Earth, Goodwill towards men. You can never convince me that is a bad thing. Just to keep up to date: The Christmas Countdown: 81 Days 22 hours and 51 minutes and 50 seconds.


20201220_162301.jpg


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


Sort:  

Oh wow! I have to admit the French talking made it even a little better lol. There was a whole lot to this recipe for sure. I think it is above my skill level at the moment, plus the whole nut thing is a no go here. Ah well I suppose I will have to enjoy it from afar. May not get the exact taste by the pics, but I bet it is pretty close and better on the blood sugar as well. Nice job Denise!

Haha! You do like your french, don't you?I agree, the recipe is over the top and without a step by step, it is definitely over my skill level. But, its fun to try out things that are a little challenging, every once in a while.

Oh this would shoot your blood sugar to the moon and talk to the kids nut allergies! There is a cake out there somewhere! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words!

Whoa, looks fantastic. Put a little few more of those sail boats on the water for me.

Hehe! You got it, Ace! @ace108

😎 My eyes and brain still working then.

Christmas ... tee hee. I 'baked' a cake for my son's birthday today too. But a chaffle pumpkin cake with whipped cream and cream cheese icing.

Ohhhh! Now that sounds yummy! Ok, the truth is I really no good at baking, but, I do follow directions pretty well. They make cakes so fancy now, or perhaps we have more time than our mothers did.

Hi, Pryde! How have you been? It feels like forever since I got out of my own box and looked around me - and when I wasn't looking, Autumn came knocking at the door. What is up with that?

Yes ... the leaves are well on their way here:)

I do so love the beauty of Autumn!

More cake ! Yay !

That looks and sounds devine.

To heck with diets, I'd have to have a slice of that.... or maybe two.

More cake!!! I feel like the cake lady today. Two cakes in three days. That is so not like me! I blame it on a delicious cake I saw last week and it reminded me of the Apple Caramel cake... and then it was all downhill from there.

Did you bake this weekend? I was too busy to go over to your profile, so I didn't even see if you posted. OMG... I should get off my fingers and look, shouldn't I? I will say no because I see you everywhere in the last few days, so that means you had time and read instead of created.

How wrong was I? I need to go look. BRB This will make you laugh!! When I clicked on your name, it said unknown account! I swear it did! Hive must be tinkering with their tools today. I will need to do it again!

Thanks for stopping by! The heck with diets!

I barely bake anymore ! What ??? With covid and no parties and family gatherings, I have nothing to bake for. I can't bake things for myself because I am a sugar addict and if it is here, I can't resist eating and eating.... and eating it. Not all at once, but every few hours it calls to me to take another bite. ugh.. .right ? So .... no baking.

Funny thing is, my Mom likes cake so a few weeks back, I actually made one that she normally loves and then she called and said she had been invited to a birthday party ! ha ha.... I happen to love that cake too and well..... it was really really good and ... sigh.....

I do love baking though. The holiday planning time will be here before you know it and.... we still can't do like before covid eactly. I miss being able to make lots of big plans and then carry out all that goes with it. It's not right.... IT"S NOT RIGHT !!

I know!! I'm ready mourning the loss of holidays past. This one will be hard on your mom, so something good needs to be done.

I know! Bake! We cant even bake for the firemen, police department or rest homes again. They are fun and my girls like doing it too. We have no place to use up this need. It needs to be done!

I'm sure we will do things for Mom and although I think I am always outside the box on things.....LOL.... I really need to figure things to make it a happy time. I'm sure my brother and sisters will too, but I won't to think up the most fantastic thing ever ! ...but I don't know if that fantastic thing will come out of my brain or not. I even have money to throw at it ! Now ... if I could only think it up !

I finally got in over there and I missed two! I need to clean my feed so I don't get so many of those I don't follow, but, over 4 years ago. They probably don't even exist.

I can understand you missing them. I haven't posted two times in a week sometimes, much less 2 times in one day. It's all good !

That diplomat cream is calling my name! It could be called totalitarian cream and I’d still want to eat a bowl full!

Honestly my friend, that cake is just beyond scrumptious looking, I love almond anything, but to have a construction element thanks to those gorgeous almond pralines? SOLD! Lol

Such a beautiful confection😊 🍰

Oh, for sure! I think I heard it!! There is something about it that makes me want to sit right down and eat that for dessert. The heck with the cake, although, toss me a piece of the almond brittle and we can be friends for life, I tell you!

You are so kind and thoughtful in your praise. I like building too. The pralines work in other recipes too. They are a cool little tool to work with.

Hello, beautiful!

I agree with you 100%, beautiful Sundays are made of soup and cake, they are such delicious meals. I really liked this cake you share, in fact, I saved your recipe, the honey and almond syrup is great, I think it can be used with other desserts, to give it a crunchy touch and an attractive presentation. It looks beautiful the wooden turret near the Christmas tree. Greetings.

Thank you so much. You need something to hold that Diplomat Cream in! :) I actually have used it with other desserts and it really works well for something that needs a sweet crunch or just a little fun inserted in it.

The only downside is, of course, the short shelf life on the cream(after all the effort put into it!) but, it is worth and if you have a few girls hanging around the house, it is a fun cake to involve everyone. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

The wooden turret is a Christmas Pyramid (Weihnachtspyramide) that is a popular Christmas piece, steeped in folklore.

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Next time your due to make this give me enough warning and I'll pack my bags, that looks and sounds delicious. Cake is my best friend 😋

Check! You know I will! :) Cake is pretty cool!

Its my only vice lol have to control it 😊

I may have gained 5 pounds by simply reading your posting. You do know how to make a bold statement of the food variety 😀

Haha! I don't think it even weighs five pounds, so, is that possible? :) And, thank you so much for those kind comments you always leave behind!

Looks big and delicious to me. What's that about cameras and adding weight?

You're very welcome and you make it too easy.

Working with the brittle like you do can be tough from my experience. I've tried doing the candy related desserts and you really need to pay close attention. Some batches turn out perfectly and others I may need to toss out.

This is a real art and you look like you've mastered it.

You might also have to make a gingerbread house for Christmas. I'm sure it would be a sight to see.

Yummy, thanks for this beauty @dswigle. I would have to pass by to spend one weekend with your family someday, lol.

Oh, doesn't that sound delightful, Sam! @mcsamm! I think you might like it and then I would be able to meet your wife!

Sounds like a plan! Happy Sunday and a wonderful week to you!

I hope so soon dear, thanks.

That cake looks delicious, I am just glad I am not tempted to try my hand at baking with only me and lUlu in the house that would be dangerous for us if it tastes as good as it looks lOL

It actually tastes better than it looks. I like to bake for the family, but, if it were just me, I wouldn't do it, so I wouldn't have to eat it~

Hope all is well in your world today!

Yes all good here thanks

Oh my! The things you did to my taste buds with these lovely pictures of your yummy looking honey almond cake!

I like how the almonds are soaked in the honey and cooked into syrup. 6 hours is a long time to wait to devour the cake 😄. Well done, ma'am! I'm sure your family enjoyed every bite. 😊

It does take forever to make that cake. It didn't seem too much when reading the recipe, but, each step runs into the other, so it is a project. My family thought it was worth every minute! :)

That made me laugh, just writing that! Have a wonderful week ahead!

My live for cakes are from another planet.

This sure looks yummy.

Another planet? Oh, my! That sounds a little far! Good morning from here! I hope your day is going well.

Yes😅.. it really is far and massive.

🎯🎯🚀🎯🎯

Your post is interesting, we have selected it to be presented to
INTERCOMMUNITY - HIVE - AFFILIATE team.

Your post will be reblogged on @Target-Post, in order to increase its notoriety and be boosted (visibility, reading, comments and rewards).


Our affiliate earn passive income by delegating to @hive-affiliate. + 75 % of the curation rewards are shared with the affiliate delegators.

If you are active we boost your rewards from + 50% to + 75% to + 100%



🚩 Read Our Guidelines to get more information

🎯🎯🚀🎯🎯

Thank you!

This cake looks really tasty. Nice photography.

Thank you so much. It was delicious!

I prefer to eat rather than making! Its very complicated to follow the procedure but at the end it appears with delicious tasty cake. Have a nice day.

This is one of those cakes that I prefer eating than making also. Too many steps to make every day, but, I am almost at the point of being able to do it with no trouble.

Thanks and have a great day!

Thanks for sharing, reading make me feel I just took a full course on baking cake 🎂.

:) Now, I insist you make a cake! :)

I will try, I dunno if it will be sweet though

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
15

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer! Much appreciated!