Once Upon A Time There Was A Small Bug

So the little bug settled in my body, paying no attention to the two doses of vaccine. I guess even viruses find me atractive.

What do you think the symptoms are? Headache? Pain? Difficulies with breathing? Nah, I got none of these. My symptoms were clumsiness, acting and feeling stupid, talking too much and saying or almost saying stupid things. (along with coughing, of course)

It didn't make big damage, physically. But I'm staying home nevertheless because the bug's strength is more of a legal, moral, and psychological strength.

When it first got in, I believe at the end of 2021, and because I was camping with friends at that time so words like pain and ache... are out of the question, all it did to me was make me act (or feel) stupid and clumsy. I remember burning my own shoe by the campfire, something only amateurs are supposed to do. I also remember getting tricked into taking a sip of vodka mixed with juice, even though the friend that tricked me (because I don't drink) gave me a hint that I would get if I was in my normal mental condition.

269039431_289903646525884_1973388208568280061_n.jpg

One more stupid decision I made was when I went to work on Monday and only told my boss about my concerns over my own health. Naturally, he dismissed them and told me I should wait a few days before taking the test. One more proof of how much they care!

The next day, I also went to work, but I left early and told him I'm taking the test, not asking for permission this time. Honestly, I wasn't feeling bad, only sleepy but the cough was annoying me so I wanted to make sure I was ok and take the rest of the day off. Because I was almost sure the result would be negative.

The test was positive. and here I am more than a week since the symptoms started and five days since the test result, still feeling well, but still coughing.

I'm taking the time off to finally bring my life to order and reorganise my priorities, cutting loose the outdated parts of me and taking care of the part that need growing.

Now lets go through the story from the beginning:

Once upon a time, there was a small bug. The bug tried to ruin our lives, making us afraid of each other.

Personally, it succeeded in making new bareers in front of me. Made it impossible to immigrate. MAde it so hard to find a new job, and when I did, it made it so difficult to keep my job and keep a healthy personal-professional life balance. So I lost that job.

After months of thinking and self-exploring and looking for other options, I decided to postpone my ambitious dreams and focus on what I can achieve. So I started a new job and decided to keep it until I don't need it anymore. Keeping it made me let go of a few other identities, even temporarily until they fit in with that new one that overweighed them.

They would manifest every once in a while and take the time they can lay hands on to prove they're still alive.

Some of those identities are blogging, outdoor activities, hanging out with friends...

All this chaos and the little bug hasn't even made physical contact with me. It was just an idea. A reason why life has changed.

807b5450-8862-4fdc-8cb9-108dcb9459a4.jpeg

I am one of those who believe in statistics. Not the ones that the media displays to convince us of whatever suits it, mind you, but the ones we get from the source. I have friends and family who work in hospitals. They told me that the vaccines (even though they might have side effects) are effective against the little bug.

They don't necessarily kill it before it settles in the body, but they limit its effect on the body. People who are not vaccinated are more likely to need hospitals, and once in the hospital, are more likely to need oxygen, then more likely to die.

Trust me on this, no one wants to need a hospitable, especially a Tunisian one. They can get so overcrowded and under-equipped you may come out of them worse than you get in.

So I took the vaccine. Not to say it was the right choice or to judge those who chose differently. I believe that everyone has a choice to take concerning the little bug and the vaccine and what scares him the most between the two.

I don't know if it's the vaccine or my Immune Systeme that saved me from any complications with the Virus, but here's another chance for me to express my gratefulness for not needing to be hospitalised.

Staying at homefor days is annoying but it also has advantages and I'll make sure to make the best out of it.

Thanks for reading and have a nice day.

Sort:  

hey @hazem91 good to hear you are back at work. How are you feeling these days? Do you still have any lingering effects from Covid or are you starting to feel back to best? 🤗 Nearly time for another meandering hike, right? 😉❣️

I'm feeling well enough now, thanks
well enough to resume work, and to go for a weekend adventure, too ;) did just that last weekend hehe

but the coughing is sill annoying me at some times, that's the only thing that didn't go away with the virus

That's good to hear overall...yeah the cough is the thing that lingers...forever seemingly...but it does go weeks down the line. I honestly believe I had covid in Feb/Mar 2020. Spent 2 weeks visiting the doc, crying my heart out with coughing, choking, tight burning chest, zero sleep. For some reason my lungs appeared 'clear' on the stethoscope each time I went but probably because of all the crazy coughing I was doing. No testing was being done at that point. Eventually, he booked me off with stress (sigh) but at least I was able to get some daytime sleep ... problem was my youngest was down with the same and sleeping alongside me at the time so daytime was the only chance for sleep. Hubby and eldest we think got it a few weeks later when hubby went to Madrid which was declared the epicentre of Spain's emerging pandemic at the time. Did you write a post on your latest adventure? Did I miss it??? I'll go look hehe. Take care, see you around soon in the comments 😊

sorry about the discomfort you had, but glad it's all over now :)
nah, I didn't write about my last trip
Maybe I will soon

So he ow is your health now? By now you should have rested very well. I hope you are exposing your yourself too much at the office. Besides when has talking too much become an illness? Haha. Well, I wish you speedy recovery, there no job anywhere. Get your health back on track and head back for work, Sir. Hahaha

I went back to work ten days ago now hehe
talking too much when it's not your habit is kinda strange lol

Hahaha. It is alright. Enjoy your work when you resume

sounds like the bug gave you brain fog ... take care and be safe.

Feels like it
Thank you
I will 😊

thank you for taking part in PYPT ... you now have the badge. You should see it on your peakd profile

Sad about the hospital situation. They are understaffed here, but not really crowded and pretty sanitary.

turns out one little bug was all it takes for all the flaws to show up in our healthcare system.

hi @hazem91. This was a thoughtful post. I am sorry that you are down with covid. It sounds like it isn't getting the better of you so that is good. Keep smiling and looking forward and upward. If the latest news is anything to go by... this thing is getting weaker, not stronger. Is it covid vaccine requirements that are preventing you from emigrating or simply all the fallout economy wise that is having that impact? Either way, I hope you find a way to pursue the path that you want to take in life. 🙏

Heyy
Thanks for stopping by
and yeah, it didn't give me much of a struggle, I go back to work tomorrow
What stopped me was that for a long while, traveling was not allowed, even to the neighboring countries! also the VISA was getting almost impossible because they were trying to limit the mobility of people.

hey Hazem 😊 That's great to see that you have recovered so well, and relatively quickly too! I know what you mean about the travelling bans. It's been dire and unpredictable these past 2 years. Hopefully, things will start looking up now. I am desperate to travel again myself. Do you think Tunisia will relax their covid controls any time soon? Anyway, hope you have a good first day back at work. The weekend is nearly here. Keep smiling...

thanks
yeah I think the whole world will relax soon, or at least I hope so
the statistics say we're beating it ;)

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.