Common Misunderstandings about Fasting and Month of Ramadan

There are two reasons for writing today's blog. Firstly, I want to share pictures of home made dishes during If'tar and secondly, a question that is always asked to us as Muslims is what is forbidden to eat and drink during fasting.

Photos by Shahzad Ansari through OnePlus 9 Pro and edited in Adobe Express App
Photos by Shahzad Ansari through OnePlus 9 Pro

An important part of Ramadan month is fasting, most believe that Muslims abstain from food and drink from sunrise to sunset. Unfortunately, we ourselves are given such an impression that Ramadan is only a name for us to stop eating and drinking. Which is wrong. It is true that fasting has many benefits, both spiritual and physical. It helps us develop self-control, discipline and patience. It cleanses our bodies physically and gives our digestive systems a much needed rest. But this month is especially a month of brotherhood and coming together as a community and helping each other through prayers and charity. We should not forget the true meaning of Ramadan which is the month of blessings, mercy and forgiveness and should make full use of it.

Photos by Shahzad Ansari through OnePlus 9 Pro

Photos by Shahzad Ansari through OnePlus 9 Pro

Yesterday, renowned Urdu author, columnist, writer and journalist Dr. Arif Mahmud Kisana interviewed my daughter @ilma-ansari on the topic of fasting, and the answer she gave made me and my wife very proud. We always encourage our children to ask questions and discuss various topics with us freely, so we were very happy that Ilma was able to confidently answer Mr. Kisana's question. Her response showed that she has a good understanding of the subject matter and is not afraid to express her opinion. Dr. Kisana was very impressed with Ilma's knowledge and asked her several follow-up questions. It was clear that Ilma had a deep understanding of it. We are extremely proud of her for representing Islam in such a positive light and hope that she continues to make us proud in the future!

Photos by Shahzad Ansari through OnePlus 9 Pro

It is a common question about how to fast, what to do in Ramadan, and what are the consequences if we do not follow the rules completely. With such questions and their answers, I feel that we also create a sense of fear in people, especially young children. I think part of the problem is that we focus too much on the negative aspects of Ramadan, instead of highlighting the positives. We talk about how difficult it will be to fast, instead of how rewarding it can be. We talk about all the things you can't do during Ramadan, instead of all the things you can do. And as a result, I think we are inadvertently encouraging people to live the remaining 11 months carelessly and recklessly. We make them think that they don't have to worry about following the rules or being good human beings because they can just "make up for it" in Ramadan. But that's not what Islam is about.

Photos by Shahzad Ansari through OnePlus 9 Pro

I believe that there is a lot of material out there which can scare children and new Muslims about what is forbidden during Ramadan or fasting. Such as not avoiding sins during fasting, backbiting, abusive language and not avoiding staring at women to the point of being hurtful and misuse of mobile phones, the fast is not accepted. This gives the impression that fasting during all these sins is prohibited and it is only permitted under normal circumstances. However, this is not the case. Backbiting, telling lies and obscene language are just as bad when someone is fasting as they are in any other state.

Evil is evil no matter what the circumstances are.


Disclaimer
As I mentioned in my intro, from the last 2 decades I have been active on social media, google mapping and reviews, youtube and thatsup. I will share my own past interesting content from these channels, but all my upcoming content I will share on hive.blog first.


Follow me on
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tiktok

Sort:  

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes...

I like your post, it's the best Ramadan post on Hive that I read so far this year.

I like how you stated that we put fear into people for things to not do in Ramadan. Islam is about a mixture of Mercy and Warnings, and we always seem to miss one or another.

I'll just say I'm happy to not practice some of these sins in the day of Ramadan, even if I couldn't prevent myself while I'm not fasting I want to at least not displease Allah by practicing them in the fasting hours. Pray.

"renowned Urdu author, columnist, writer and journalist Dr. Arif Mahmud Kisana interviewed my daughter @ilma-ansari on the topic of fasting,"

Is the interview available to hear/read somewhere? (Though I won't be able to read it if it's not in Arabic/English.)


SHARED on DBUZZ

!PIZZA !LUV

@ahmadmanga I also have same feelings about this post. I shared it in voice show "heart to heart session" of HL which is recorded and uploaded on kronias account from 3speak. In that I talked in details about my feelings. If u get a chance, please visit that show too to listen my thoughts about this post.

Thanks for visiting an under rated author. I wish I would reward this post more but I have limited magic dust to spend.

Haha, I totally understand this.

Thanks for visiting an under rated author. I wish I would reward this post more but I have limited magic dust to spend.

So, can you give me the link to where you uploaded the video or should I look it up myself.

It's from previous show. The one I am talking about will be uploaded on next coming monday on same account.

https://peakd.com/hive-153850/@kronias/ipurxintuh

Okay, will watch. إن شاء الله

Have some !PIZZA

May Allah give us strength to do good deeds and accept our Fasting.
Yes her interview is in Urdu but iw ill try to share on Hive with english transcript.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ahmadmanga ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

There was a mistake in the tweet. Deleted. The new tweet:

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
ahmadmanga tipped shahzad-ansari (x1)
@ahmadmanga(1/15) tipped @dlmmqb (x1)

!discovery 20


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @shahzad-ansari! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal