A Day with Ben Carson (Stop Only When You're Done)

Ben Carson is a man whose book I read a lot during my secondary school days. I have read a lot of Ben’s books but one of the most inspiring of them is *Gifted Hands*. I read it first in secondary school. Just today, while searching for my practical manual in Nursing, I came across the book “Gifted hands” and a few minutes later, I saw myself reading the book in the parlor. Honestly, I am very grateful for whatever led me to read this book. Ben has always been a motivator to me.

pixabay

Please allow me to introduce a mentor. Dr. Benjamin Carson is a Pediatric Neurosurgeon, he's also a professor and a politician in America. He is popularly known for the first successful separation of conjoined twins which took place around 1987. Ben Carson was a very dull student in high school. According to his stories, he was even mocked. One of the most unforgettable high school experiences of Ben was during a mathematics test, each student was asked to switch their book to someone behind for marking. After the teacher called out the correct answers, she went sit by sit according to the arrangement in the class asking for the total score of each student, When she got to Ben and asked him for his score, he said 9 to avoid mockery ( whereas, he got none) Just immediately, the girl who marked his book shouted “He is lying, he got none). The girl was so loud that even those outside heard her. This incident didn't limit Ben in anyway. As a matter of fact, The incident motivated him to read and research which made him one of the brightest students in class. In his story, he mentioned that whenever he was in a tough situation, he always hear his mother voice saying “Ben, you can do it “ even when it seems like nothing can be done.
Today, Ben is recognized as a highly remarkable neurosurgeon and also one of the best-selling authors in America.

Today, I was inspired. The book “gifted hands” reminded that failure is not the end, it is only a pass way to success and we should only stop when we are done not when we are tired. This is to motivate someone today! I had a great day with Ben Carson anyway. Thank you for your time.